Cadbury Winter Gingerbread Chocolate Cake Bars

Afternoon Chocoloholics!

My husband bought me these as he knows I love chocolate cake and I love gingerbread. He said as soon as he saw them, he knew he had to get me some. I had these last night. Let’s see what I made of them.

IDShot_540x540.jpg

Cadbury Winter Gingerbread Chocolate Cake Bars

”Chocolate flavoured sponge with a gingerbread flavour topping, covered in milk chocolate."

I ripped open the pack and the first thing I saw was that there were 6 cake bars not 5. I actually thought my eyes were deceiving me!

IMG_4107.jpg

I’m not complaining! Although I did think the cake bars were smaller than expected. I was expecting them to be similar size to Cadbury Mini Rolls. They didn’t smell gingery either. Normally anything that contains ginger, you can smell a mile off. There was no smell to these, not even when I opened the individual bar. They were much smaller than expected! Maybe that’s why this pack and an extra one as Cadbury knew this was going my way. I took a bite. I struggled to get any ginger flavour or any gingerbread flavour at all. The chocolate cake did taste chocolatey, but only faintly. I went in for another bite. This time I closed my eyes to really see if I could get any of that gingerbread or ginger taste. Nothing! Yeah, not great at all. I won’t be wanting these again.

I was very disappointed by the lack of flavour with these. Even though I had an extra one in the pack, I could have done without it. I couldn’t finish the pack as I would normally do. That’s saying something about these cake bars. I’m not one to leave a box wth something left unless I am full up to the brim! These were tasteless. I think these should be advertised as a kids treat. They were small and uninteresting for my talented tastebuds. Maybe these would suit undeveloped tastebuds instead. Really put a damper on my evening. I didn’t even want anything else after these. Yuk!

Mr Kipling Winter Whirls
Mr Kipling Carrot Cake Slices

Co-op Irresistible pigs in Blankets Hand Cooked Crisps
Tesco Finest Ham & Spiced Cola Crisps

Mr Kipling French Fancies
Mr Kipling Lemon Fancies
Mr Kipling Frosty Fancies

Kettle Chips Roast Chicken & Thyme
Kettle Chips Rosemary & Sea Salt

Mr Kipling Chocolate Orange Fancies
Mr Kipling Festive Bakewell Tarts
Mr Kipling After Dinner Mint Fancies
Mr Kipling Mini Bakewell Selection
Mr Kipling Trifle Bakewells
Mr Kipling Apple, Pear and Custard Tarts
Mr Kipling Cherry Bakewells

Muchos Smokey Chilli Chicken
Muchos Cool Sour Cream & Onion
Muchos Nacho Cheese

Maple and Pecan Matchmakers
Cool Mint Matchmakers
Zingy Orange Matchmakers
Gingerbread Matchmakers
Salted Caramel Matchmakers

Mcvities Jaffa Cakes Orange & Cranberry Flavour

Godiva Hazelnut Oyster with Belgian Milk Chocolate
Godiva Caramel Lion with Belgian Milk Chocolate
Guylian Belgian Chocolate Seashells

Tesco Granola Squares
Tesco Maple & Pecan Plait
Tesco Bramley Apple Turnovers
Tesco Strawberry Jam & Cream Scones

Original Twix
White Chocolate Twix
Salted Caramel Twix

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency