Last time restaurant visit - Ordering our usual

One Last visit to this restaurant.png

Here's to last times!

With just a few weeks left on the clock, many more last times happen every single day. Even more so now that we will have to be very careful because Spain extended the covid restrictions until halfway through June. It is what it is and we will just deal with it as it comes. We decided to visit our nearby local restaurant recently for one last time as we think the owner and his wife probably had a hard time surviving through the pandemic, thankfully they didn't close so we could visit them one last time. They have a very basic menu and we always order the same because the rest is not that appealing or gives my boyfriend stomach issues afterward. But at least this used to be a good way to eat out while supporting the locals.

foodie text divider.png

The Food We Ordered

The dish below is for two people and usually contains a bit more appealing meat than it did this time, you could clearly tell they aren't able to offer real quality anymore compared to the last time we visited. I'm personally very picky with meat and especially sauce read: I rarely eat any sauce with my food, and this time for some reason they covered our dish with a big pile of sauce that I didn't like either. It was very spicy some sort of curry which I absolutely dislike myself. Not a great start but I tried to "eat around it first".

2022 - La Gare last time april 15 (5).jpg

Some extra potatoes as our daughter always decides she wants them too after she finishes her goulash soup.

2022 - La Gare last time april 15 (3).jpg

The goulash soup is always nice here.

2022 - La Gare last time april 15 (2).jpg

2022 - La Gare last time april 15 (1).jpg

2022 - La Gare last time april 15 (4).jpg

2022 - La Gare last time april 15 (7).jpg

2022 - La Gare last time april 15 (6).jpg

foodie text divider.png

Conclusion

I was disappointed when the owner asked me (out of routine so it turned out) if everything was ok. He expected the same answer as always, but I was honest and told him that I was disappointed that the food was suddenly covered with sauce which it normally isn't, I expect that when I order the usual, it's usual and not changed suddenly.

He didn't even hear me out and cut me off by saying "oh well, maybe next time". Which I personally found very rude and inappropriate. When I saw the bill I was even more disappointed to see the prices were 40% up. I didn't notice this on the menu though. I can imagine their prices went up, so I can't complain much about that, but I do feel a sense of disappointment for not even letting me finish my sentence and at least say sorry for that, or whatever. If it weren't for us moving soon, this would have been the last time there anyway because of his attitude while I stayed friendly but just wanted to point out that it's a shame they didn't ask us upfront.

foodie text divider.png

More Foodies Content

foodie text divider.png

Credits

  • All images used are my own.
  • The text divider is my own design, where I sometimes use images from Canva Pro or in other cases, my own images.

foodie text divider.png

Let's Connect

If you want to connect, you can give me a follow on my socials. For inquiries, you can send me a direct message on Discord.

foodie text divider.png

Social Media Management Portfolio:

foodie text divider.png

My Referral Links:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center