I'm buying time by ordering meals more often - These wraps are my favorite food to order!

good roots - wraps to die for.png

Healthier Food

So recently, I've been longing for some healthier food but not only food that is prepped by yours truly. No, actually I'm far more interested in finding some healthy food that I can easily order with a few clicks in the food-delivery apps here. Why? Simply because I feel like I need 10 more hours in a day currently and often my inspiration for a healthy meal is lacking. Of course, I can fall back on some of the regular meals but I've noticed that my tolerance for the complaints of our daughter about anything that's green (besides avocados!) will result in 30 mins (at least!) crying and complaining session, once we sit and dinner is served, it results in another session of not starting to eat, even though she won't get anything else. I've noticed that within the few minutes my patience has reached a limit because I just want to have a nice meal without complaining to at least enjoy the meal that I just prepped while I actually didn't really feel like doing that because I had far too much other things to do. Is that too much to ask? If you ask my daughter, it is.

foodie text divider.png

Therefore I prefer ordering a few days a week

It gives me at least a few days where I don't have to think about anything other than what to pick today, and while I wait, I can continue whatever I need to do instead of thinking about the food. Ideal! I really don't even care at this point that it costs me more money, I just need time and that's not for sale. This is the best solution for now until I'm 100% sure that I'm not running out of time completing the administrative tasks for moving like closing accounts as well as listing all the items that we can't take with us. Thankfully, listing these items comes with extra funds so our budget is constantly being refilled with unexpected amounts, which makes up for the extra costs of ordering meals and still gives us some extra cash on top of it. Win-win!

foodie text divider.png

I got inspired by @eco-alex

Ever since I saw his post about a vegan place in Thailand, I had to find something similar, the wraps he shared looked so delicious! I even told him I was going to hunt for something like that, but it had to be from the delivery app and I wasn't sure if it was available. I didn't find the exact food but thankfully I discovered a (to me) new restaurant that seemed to have food a little healthier than the average restaurant here. I was going to give it a try and hope for the best. The name of the restaurant is Good Roots and I saw that they are located in a few other countries besides Hungary, namely: Austria, Finland and Sweden.

foodie text divider.png

A so welcome nice wrap

Usually, when I order anything wrap-alike here, it's filled with gyros meat, some are okay-ish, others are horrible, therefore it's honestly not something I order a lot. What I do is often put a lot of veggies and some chicken on the table to create our own wraps. That's nice, but also time-consuming (the cutting part). I was looking for a wrap with some new ingredients, that we normally wouldn't eat and the wraps from Good Roots seemed nice. The first time I ordered an Oriental Wrap, while my boyfriend ordered a Chicken Bowl, we both ordered the banana bread extra on the menu.

foodie text divider.png

Let's see how it was delivered

The packaging is perfect if you ask me, I've started to appreciate the paper wraps more and more in the past months, as I noticed delivered food does well in it as well as some veggies are staying fresh much longer when a paper bag is used.

good roots (2).jpg

good roots (1).jpg

The nice thing about the wrap is that you can open it, cut it in half, and roll the remaining part (if too much) back into the paper to save it for later. It will stay as delicious as it was delivered, even the next day!

good roots (6).jpg

good roots (7).jpg

Look at the inside! It was truly amazing, I enjoyed it so much that I ordered this a few more times in the past weeks, just because I was craving it haha. I wondered what was inside exactly so I looked it up: crispy falafel, fresh salad, quinoa-bulgur mix, beetroot humus, and fresh cherry tomatoes, with silky lime-tahini topping, wrapped in a soft wrap. For me, it's a winner!

good roots (4).jpg

My boyfriend first ordered this bowl with extra chicken but found out that the extra chicken was not needed at all, and the next time he also went for the wrap and says the wraps are better than the bowl. I also ordered sweet potatoes the first time, but honestly, these weren't that great and were all mushy when arrived, even though the box has holes for the heat inside. It's fine though, I can do without them just fine! Can't win them all!

good roots (8).jpg

Dessert.. yum!

good roots (3).jpg

This was the banana bread including a mix of nuts that actually made me bake the banana muffins for my boyfriend at the time. This banana bread has such a different texture though, not sure what their secret is but my boyfriend was a huge fan from the very first bite!

good roots (5).jpg

foodie text divider.png

Conclusion

This restaurant scored some serious points at the very last minute of our stay in Budapest. Well, not last minute, but last weeks of our stay. I decided not to feel guilty whenever I want to order a wrap because it will save me time and give me some absolute joy while eating. :-)
If you ever find yourself in the neighborhood, order these wraps with the local food delivery app! You won't regret it!

foodie text divider.png

More Foodies Content

foodie text divider.png

Credits

  • All images are my own.
  • The text divider is my own design, where I sometimes use images from Canva Pro or in other cases, my own images.

foodie text divider.png

Let's Connect

If you want to connect, you can give me a follow on my socials. For inquiries, you can send me a direct message on Discord.

foodie text divider.png

Social Media Management Portfolio:

foodie text divider.png

My Referral Links:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center