Hangover Food | Dutch Croquettes

Dutch croquette.png

Holiday hangover

Usually, I don't drink. When they have my favourite pistachio liquor for sale at Lidl again (usually every few months) I always buy a bottle or 2 for when I feel like having a drink. I mix it up with coco milk and add some ice and I feel like I'm on a tropical island. As I don't drink often, I usually already feel tipsy after finishing one glass, lol. I remember the days when I was still young and could finish a full bottle of something. I don't mind that I'm feeling tipsy after one drink, it's for the best, as I will rarely drink another one. Exceptions are there, of course. This weekend was one of them and I can tell you that I feel hungover for two days straight now. Today is less than yesterday, but I can feel the difference of being half my age and having a drink compared to now very well. I truly need an extra day to recover, so it's a good thing that I'm not drinking weekly and miss a few productive days every week.

foodie text divider.png

Comfort food when having a hangover

Most will recognize the awful feeling of having a hangover and being confronted with the not so great choice of drinking too much the night before. I know a lot of people would always buy gyros or something similar greasy at the local greek in the middle of the night. I personally have never had these cravings for this kind of food, on the contrary, if you'd serve it to me while having a hangover, I'd probably run instead.

There are exceptions though, some things I can deal with better than others. One of these things is a typical Dutch snack that you can eat at the local fast-food restaurants that sell fries and snacks. Since I left, I never had the option again to buy these and I've been missing them. I did one attempt to bake them myself, and I have to admit this was a lot of nasty work and took quite some time, while the end result wasn't that great. Since then, I have never eaten them again as you can't buy them here.

foodie text divider.png

Dutch food imported by the snack express

I found a solution for my Dutch food cravings when I landed on a site called Holland snack express and discovered that all these snacks that I miss from back home can be ordered there. Granted, a lot more expensive than the prices I remember from years ago. And you have to order for €70 to get free delivery, otherwise, another €15 can be added to the already expensive order.

Some months ago, I ordered a bunch of snacks and it would take about 3 weeks for the delivery round to get to Hungary again. The longer I waited, the more I decided that this was a stupid move, stocking up the freezer with snacks just before the holidays meaning that I'd barely have any space for other groceries in the freezer. Count to that, that I discovered being pregnant and also wondered if I'd not resent the smell/taste of these snacks by the time they'd arrive. Therefore, I cancelled.

foodie text divider.png

Old colleague of my boyfriend to the rescue

My boyfriend realized that his old colleague once offered him a list with snack prices containing a few of the snacks I'd love to eat again. Dutch croquette is something I truly enjoy on a white bun with a little mayonnaise. I can even handle it when being hungover. I remember his prices were a lot more reasonable compared to the snack express so we decided to try out a few different snacks.

Although I didn't fancy the goulash croquettes at all, I love the beef croquettes. They are slightly different inside than the ones I'm used to from back home, but nevertheless, they satisfied my cravings. Finally, after several years!

foodie text divider.png

Secret recipe

The seller of these used to have his own snack corner for many years and has developed his own recipe, so I can't give you that as I have no clue how he preps them. I was thankful that he mentioned defrosting them for 2 hours before frying them as they'd otherwise open in the fryer. This was something I never did in Holland, I always threw them in the fryer right away. Never too old to learn, right?

I managed to have the perfect crunchy crust and warm filling making it even more enjoyable to eat. The crust just has to be perfect.

IMG_20211217_142317.jpg

Let's see the inside:

IMG_20211217_142429.jpg

IMG_20211217_142534.jpg

Last, but very important, adding some mayonnaise (and/or mustard as many may prefer)

IMG_20211217_142600.jpg

As the croquettes were a bit too big for the bread, I took off the ends. Eating them without a bun is just as enjoyable, especially when you have the right crunchiness.

Have you ever eaten these croquettes? They come in many forms, we also ordered goulash croquettes, but I don't like these myself. When it comes to these Dutch croquettes, I'm sticking with the beef feeling, just as I've always loved them from my childhood.

foodie text divider.png

More Foodies Content

foodie text divider.png

Let's Connect

If you want to connect, you can give me a follow on my socials. For inquiries, you can send me a direct message on Discord.

My Referral Links:

Hive Stock Image Contributions

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center