Homemade Quiche Lorraine

Quiche Lorraine (3).jpg

Quiche Cravings

I have to admit that I was planning on baking this quiche for several weeks now. I can't remember ever baking one before, but I may have forgotten as well. Either way, I decided several weeks ago that I was going to make a quiche and when I was ordering online groceries and saw a 500 grams bag of grated cheese for 50% off, I saw this as my sign. This store tries to avoid food waste and therefore offers food close to consumption date for a lower price. In the case of fresh meat and fish, they mention the latest consumption date as well. This bag of cheese was actually still good for consumption for another week, but I guess they had too many of them so, therefore, started discounting them earlier. In the end, I waited until the very last day to make this quiche. But it was worth the wait even though I made a beginner's error by not pre-baking the crust, it turned out fine!

Quiche text divider.png

The Ingredients

For the crust:

  • 300 Grams of flour
  • 150 Grams of unsalted butter
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 Egg
  • 3 Tablespoons of water

For the filling:

  • 4 Eggs
  • 200 Grams of grated cheese
  • 200 ML of cooking cream
  • Baby spinach (didn't weigh it)
  • 350 grams of bacon
  • 2 Cloves of garlic

Quiche Lorraine (2).jpg

Quiche text divider.png

Prepping The Dough

This is probably the easiest dough I've ever made anyway. Put all the ingredients in a bowl and start mixing them. If the dough ends up too dry, add a bit of water, and if it ends up a bit too wet, add a little flour. Mine was actually perfect not too wet and not dry.

Quiche Lorraine (15).jpg

Once done mixing, wrap it in foil and place in the fridge for at least 30 minutes to rest. Meanwhile, I baked the bacon slices together with the garlic cloves.

Quiche Lorraine (16).jpg

Preheat the oven at 180 degrees. Take the dough out of the foil, add some flour to your worktop and start rolling with a rolling pin. This is where I had issues, to be honest, I suck at using a rolling pin. Therefore see below how I decided to add the dough to my baking tin:

Quiche Lorraine (1).jpg

Hilarious! Don't laugh! Stop it!! I had no clue how high the dough had to be and I decided to have a pretty thick crust on the edges. Before adding the filling, make some holes with a fork in the bottom.

Quiche text divider.png

Prepping The Filling

Marielle Price.png

Quiche lorraine filling 1.png

Quiche text divider.png

Final Steps

Almost done! Time to add the filling to the prettiest crust you've ever seen. :)

Quiche Lorraine (5).jpg

I first added baby spinach on the bottom.

Quiche Lorraine (6).jpg

Followed by a nice layer of bacon, I prefer them baked, but I read how some people just add them without baking them. Your choice!

Quiche Lorraine (9).jpg

Last, add some pepper and salt to the cheese, cream and eggg filling and now pour it into the crust. Place in the preheated oven at 180 degrees for 40 to 50 minutes.

Quiche text divider.png

The End Result

Let's start with the first look:

Quiche Lorraine (11).jpg

Not bad, not pretty either. But could still taste great! I was so happy to discover that I could easily remove the quiche from the baking tin, without damaging it.

Quiche Lorraine (14).jpg

Look from the top, looks ok. Nice crust on top at least.

Quiche Lorraine (3).jpg

Oh, the inside looks quite good! And let me tell you, it was! Ok granted, the crust needs to be prebaked next time, and less thick, but the rest of the quiche was quite good!

Thanks for stopping by! See you next time.

More Foodies Content

Quiche text divider.png

Credits

  • All images used are my own.
  • The text divider is my own design, where I sometimes use images from Canva Pro or in other cases, my own images.

Quiche text divider.png

Let's Connect

If you want to connect, you can give me a follow on my socials. For inquiries, you can send me a direct message on Discord.

Quiche text divider.png

My Referral Links:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center