Simple But Good Weekend Snack | Beef Tartare

InkedBeef Tartare - Simple. So Nice!_LI.jpg

Food memories from my childhood

When I grew up, I always adored a snack with "Filet American" as we called this in Holland. It was a topping for your toast to eat as a snack, but could also be eaten as a topping on a delicious sandwich in many varieties. Even as a child, I went bananas whenever my mother would bring this because it wasn't the cheapest thing to buy so we didn't have this in our home all the time. It was a real treat for me. Whenever I stayed the night at my aunt and uncle's home, they used to make sure that they had their favourite "filet American" at home because they knew I was so fond of it. They went to the (expensive) cheese shop in the city centre that also sold that kind of salads and cold cuts. The one they had was divine, I can still remember what it looked like and how creamy it was, so good! But expensive and it only came in 500 grams at once, while the 100grams price was already a lot for us.

Foodie Text Divider.png

Beef tartar

Since we left Holland, I never found anything similar to this delicious treat, which made me crave it even more! A few months ago, I wrote about a restaurant visit where they served beef tartar and that I discovered that this was the closest to the filet American I could get from home so far. It's not exactly the same but if you compare it to the cheap ones some supermarkets sell, I guess you're very close! Since then, I went hunting for this whenever I craved it and so far, I've found 2 variations of it, today I will share with you our weekend evening snack that's so simple but makes me so happy eating it. Sometimes joy can be found in the smallest things, that's for sure!

Foodie Text Divider.png

The Ingredients & Process

As this snack contains just a few ingredients and a few simple steps to follow, I will include both of them in one paragraph.

The Ingredients:
  • Beef Tartar
  • Baguette
  • Butter
  • Parsley
  • Onion
  • Pepper
  • Salt
The Process:
  • Chop the parsley
  • Chop the onions
  • Cut the baguette into slices
  • Add butter & beef tartare to the baguettes

beef tartare.png

  • Add pepper & salt
  • Add onion & parsley

Beef tartar snack (2).jpg

Bon Apetit!

Do you like beef tartare as well? Do you ever eat it like this or do you prefer to eat it without bread and with egg yolk for example? Please share in a comment. Thanks for stopping by and see you next time.

Foodie Text Divider.png

More Foodies Content

Foodie Text Divider.png

Credits

  • All images used are my own.
  • The text divider is my own design, where I sometimes use images from Canva Pro or in other cases, my own images.

Foodie Text Divider.png

Let's Connect

If you want to connect, you can give me a follow on my socials. For inquiries, you can send me a direct message on Discord.

Foodie Text Divider.png

My Referral Links:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center