Banana & Chocolate Muffins - A Last Minute Recipe Twist

Banana Chocolate Muffins.png

Intro

As you probably know by now, I love baking banana bread. Although usually, I stick to the regular recipe that I now finally know by heart, sometimes I get a bit funky and decide to try something new without actually knowing if it will work out or not. I never look it up online if I should do something different in the process, I just take a risk and hope it works out. Today's recipe is one of these experiments. Did it turn out well? Let's see!

foodie text divider.png

The Process

I first wish to direct you to this banana bread recipe that I always use. And then take it from there:

banana muffins.png

I know that with a marble cake you'd put the chocolate part on the bottom as it's heavier, but as this was a change of heart while I was almost ready to start baking the muffins, this is not what I did this time.

banana choco muffins 1.png

Basically, I just added cocoa to the batter and added a chocolate top layer to the banana muffins.

banana choco muffins before baking.png

They were baked for 30 to 40 minutes at 175 degrees in a preheated oven (some a bit longer than others) until I was absolutely sure they were baked properly. I checked 4 times as I used bigger muffin forms this time compared to the last time so the baking time was longer.

muffins after baking.png

Personally, I think they turned out quite handsome, especially for such a sudden change of heart without giving it much thought. It could have been an absolute failure, thankfully it wasn't.

foodie text divider.png

The End Result

place them on a rack.png

After I removed them from the muffin pan, I placed them on this rack to let them cool off. I can't imagine that until not too long ago, I didn't ever use this rack but always let things cool off as is, often in the form. It truly makes a difference when you use a rack like this to let them cool off better. Once they were, I tried cutting one in half, which I forgot to capture on camera, sorry. My daughter was quick to grab it from me once I did that. She couldn't wait!

We approve of these, even for a quick (not so healthy) breakfast, lol. Next time I'd put the chocolate at the bottom though, to have this cool marble effect. They tasted delicious!

Thank you for stopping by!

foodie text divider.png

More Foodies Content

foodie text divider.png

Credits

  • All images used are my own.
  • The text divider is my own design, where I sometimes use images from Canva Pro or in other cases, my own images.

foodie text divider.png

Let's Connect

If you want to connect, you can give me a follow on my socials. For inquiries, you can send me a direct message on Discord.

foodie text divider.png

Social Media Management Portfolio:

foodie text divider.png

My Referral Links:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center