The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 122

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from August 31 to September 6/ 2023.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @smc.arike.oba

CAN'T RUN FROM IT

image.png

Pexels

‘Did I force myself on him?'

‘Did I misinterpret all his actions towards me?’

‘Am I inadequate for him?’

‘Why me and not others?’

‘I thought we had chemistry. I thought we had a mutual understanding. Was I stupid?’

These questions played over and over again in the back of my mind. ‘How did I get here?’, I asked myself further. ‘How did I come to even think that I could love someone who wanted nothing of the sort from me and thought that he would reciprocate?’

@smc.arike.oba

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author:@popurri

The girl in the hospital

image.png

Usplash

"I just can't leave her alone".

"She's going to be fine, don't worry. Come on, let's go. It's not very far".

I let myself be convinced by the girl and we left the room, we arrived at a long corridor and in the center there was a garden. All the way there, I didn't see anyone, not even medical personnel. The girl was in front of me leading me. At the end of the hallway there was a waiting room with some was the coffee machine. It was like everything else in that very old room. I was surprised that it worked.

"Come",said the girl, whose name I never asked.

@popurri

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @rukkie

Searching For Answers To My Mysterious Questions

image.png

Pexels

" You this girl, your mouth will not put you in trouble one day". She would warn me.

I think it got to a point where she became tired of my incessant questions, so I stopped asking her but I never stopped wanting to know.

An incident happened one day that indeed led me to trouble, I would have asked my mum but I felt she wouldn't give me the answers I needed, so I decided to find the answers myself.

I noticed that the moon is always present wherever I am and I intended to find out where it would end (i.e. where it will get tired and stop following me)

I could recall I was around 9 or 10 years old then, I told my friend who is also my neighbor about my plan and we thought of a day when we could hatch our plan.

@rukkie
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @lenaspiritual

Keira's Worst Nightmare

image.png

Pixabay

“This is not funny Lucy….. Open the damn door!” Keira shouted with full force.

“Open the door!”

“I can’t let you leave this castle….. Especially for Dylan!” Arthur whispered with a cracked voice. Because of the silence, Keira heard him perfectly.

Keira’s fears came to the surface, and she felt she was suffocating.

“Get Me Out of Here!” Keira shouted, and Dylan who was on the other side of the phone heard her. Keira felt she was losing control and the whole room was going round and round in her head and she passed out on the ground.

@lenaspiritual
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @lightpen

Cooking competition

image.png

Unsplash

"I will continue to say this; cooking isn't for any gender. Let's train this boy on the basic requirements of running a home. He is willing to learn. In fact Ken, get prepared, I will write a consent letter for you to deliver to your teacher. You will participate in the competition."

Ken was very happy. "I will prove someone wrong," he turned to Mary's position and whispered.

It was on Friday and the cultural day was the following Tuesday. Preparation of Apapa consists of simple steps. The only thing that is technical in the process is the ratio of the ingredients to add in order to get a perfect taste.

@lightpen

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @fragozar01

The Karma of the Needles

image.png

Pexels

With some uneasiness, I discover the needles embedded in my arms and, the thin transparent hoses connected to them, extend to the containers that drain their fluids into my body. A clear, transparent liquid makes it through my right arm, and on the left side, another bag, but with a dark red liquid, traces its way to the bed where I am. This one caused me a lot of fear, as I followed its path right up to where the adhesive tapes held the needle in place inside me.

@fragozar01

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png
@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , and @samsmith1971

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86,87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish and @samsmith1971.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:
@jayna, @felt.buzz, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @selftheist, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @itsostylish, @marriot5464, @marynn, @davchi2, @jjmusa2004, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @balikis95, @jhymi, @cool08, @rukkie and @raymondpeter.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency