The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 89

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive and grow!

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from January 11 to 17/ 2022.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @ricardo993

Love at first sight

image.png

Photo property of author

My persistence skills had paid off. The first date I was nervous about making any mistakes, I think I was very clumsy and inept, but I kept persevering and the second date I found out the real reasons for the distance. And I understood them completely. Sincerely, the romance that had been repressed for so long by both of us began to take place. The third date was magical, I remember it well on the beach, the two of us hugging each other, giving us a love that was being born and it was when she confessed to me in the middle of that excitement that from the beginning she had felt an attraction. -

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @owasco

My Inheritance

image.png

Author's own photo

Everything was bigger than I was in that kitchen. Several copper kettles that could have held me easily were cooling along the side wall. A huge marble work bench in the center of the room was large enough for six people to have a picnic on, and it was covered in recently filled chocolate molds in a variety of animals and shapes. There were racecars and bulldogs and pigs rowing boats; there were roosters and turkeys and lambs and horses and rabbits galore. Trays of colorful mints filled a cooling rack - pink, green, blue and white. -

@owasco

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kemmyb

The Summoning

image.png

Image created by author

There was a struggle between his will and mine for a split second but his oath made it easy to overwhelm him. I rose like a conquistador to the fore of his mind, taking over his being.
I could feel the warmth of the sun on my skin and the breeze in my hair. I exhaled in victory, relief and freedom.
I opened my eyes and looked around. A piece of small, sleek machinery on the table vibrated. I stared at it for a second. It told me the time was 2 pm and I had a lecture at 4 pm. -

@kemmyb

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kei2

Leah The Lunarian Link

image.png

Author's image

Leah kept striding on the track like stepping stones to the sky. She could see now that the tracks were leading to the location of the moon. Leah became surrounded by clusters of white moon dust. From the dust emerged a woman wearing a crown. Leah thought she had never seen a woman as beautiful in her entire life. The bunnies began to hop around behind the woman. She looked at Leah and smiled
“You are the woman on the moon!” Leah blurted. Are you the goddess of the moon?” Leah asked mesmerized by everything that was happening.

@kei2

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @dreemsteem

Liar Liar pants on Fire

image.png

Author's image

"7c?!??! but isn't that up in business class?"
"No mam, that's first. Veronica says you're welcome."
I did NOT get a whole row to myself....hahaha because, well, the seats up there don't NEED rows to themselves. They have full on BEDS and are stacked in a way that you're kind of your OWN aisle. So, I have not only just had my first flight to UK...but it was in the lap of luxury. -

@dreemsteem

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kingsleyy

The three instances I saw a ghost

image.png

Source

We were told that the easiest way to identify a spirit is to pour sand on him or her...
When I got home that day, I told my mom and all she could say was that I was terribly hungry and that affected my sight. She laughed over it but deep down my heart, I was so sure that I saw Daddy Miracle. I regretted not taking bold step to confirm if he's a ghost or not. -

@kingsleyy

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Thank you for reading our short story highlights magazine!

@jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris and @itsostylish.

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86,87, 88

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @stuartcturnbull, @arduilcelebren, @itsostylish, @josemalavem, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @popurri, and @mrenglish.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency