The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 108

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from May 24 to May 30/ 2023.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @morey-lezama

THE ROAD TO FAITH

image.png

Source

When I learned to pray, my heart fervently desired that Max would disappear from my path. In my prayers, I eagerly asked for his absence, believing that I could then have more attention and closeness with the catechist. I did not stop to consider the consequences of my words.

But fate, sometimes ironic, had other plans. Max suddenly became ill and was hospitalized. We learned that he was suffering from leukemia and would not be able to attend school or catechesis. A strange mix of emotions came over me. At first, I felt a strange joy, as if my wish had been granted, but that joy quickly turned into an overwhelming sense of guilt.

@morey-lezama

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @dianelson

Mirrored

image.png

Source

A year later, I stood in front of the mirror.
She stared back at me with a smile that made her eyes wrinkle at the sides.
Her braids were down, her eyes bright like the sun, the layers all gone.
I stared and all I saw was me.
The girl I always wanted to be.

"Hey", I said to her with a smile.
"Hey", she replied with the same smile.
We both laughed even though nothing was funny.

@dianelson

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @borderline.babe
Going On A Rant // Our City's Epidemic

image.png

Author's photo

If people are out on the streets, they are making the conscious decision to do so; they do not want to give up their addictions. My city alone, which is a major metropolis, has a few dozen shelters available. Granted, it is easier said than done to quit, but if one truly wants to succeed, they need to put in the effort. It was one of the most challenging things I've had to do--the cravings stayed with me for over a year, longer than I spent actually doing the drug... It's why, again, the effort needs to be there. One of the most difficult parts of the journey is separating yourself from people and situations that enable drugs. For me, I knew the best thing was to break up with my then-boyfriend and move out of that living environment; as soon as I did, my situation improved! I no longer associated with anyone who partook in that part of my past. There was no more temptation--I was completely in control.

@borderline.babe

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @rinconpoetico7

The secret

image.png

source

Morning came slipping through the man's half-opened eyes. Drowsily Damian got up, groping his way to the bathroom, with a small flash of memory Demian remembered the importance of his appointment.

Hastily he went to get ready for the rendezvous, though doubts continued to haunt the man throughout his apartment. When it was time for the appointment, Demian felt his heart pounding uncontrollably, his stomach lurching along with anxiety and a million doubts.

He took a cab, as he gazed around the faded buildings, hallucinating about the meeting that had stolen his sleep. After about half an hour's ride, the cab stopped and the driver's voice brought Demian back to reality.

@rinconpoetico7

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @wongi

Nature Always Comes Through

image.png

Author's photo

One regular day while I sat by the outer parlour looking at the sunset, a little birdie flew on our electricity transformer. One thing led to the other and there was a loud noise accompanied by a spark. "Poor bird just got electrocuted" I muttered without giving it much thought. I didn't know that I was about to face my fear head-on.

My parents were out late and for some reason little wongi was home alone. 7pm, 8pm, there was no light and no one was home either. Without hesitation, the creepy images started forming in my mind. My bedroom felt like the only comfort zone and so I ran there. The heaps of clothes, scattered curtains and disorganised books created this giant monster in my imagination. The only thing on my mind was "write a note for your parents before the monster swallows you", but how was I supposed to do that with no light?

@wongi

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @chincoculbert

Humans are Humans, Fishes are fishes

image.png

Author's photo

But I was wrong, I started to see tons of people jump into the water laughing happily. The waves were strong, soft, soothing at the same time and it went back and forth playing and laughing too.

"Don't just stand there!, C'mon!". Jane said as she dragged me to go with her. Fear gripped me but I couldn't let go of her hand. The sand under my feet was milky and the sun smiled directly at me bearing it's rays on me, and striking a balance. Jane entered the water and swam off leaving me at the edge of the water.

I stood there smiling, the water was indeed beautiful. But what was more beautiful was watching how happy people were. I closed my eyes, and took a deep breath. I stood like that for minutes until something lifted me so fast. No it wasn't something it was someone!, No someones!

@chincoculbert

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Thank you for reading our short story highlights magazine!

@jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @millycf1976 and @grindan.

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86,87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 105, 106, 107

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @millycf1976 and @grindan.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

** @jayna , @felt.buzz , @zeurich , @marcybetancourt , @agmoore , @marlyncabrera , @itsostylish , @stormcharmer , @iamraincrystal , @preparedwombat , @gracielaacevedo , @chocolatescorpi , @samsmith1971 , @grindan , @jackdeathblack , @josemalavem , @riverflows , @generikat , @mineopoly , @timix648 ,@morey-lezama , @evagavilan2 , @popurri , @mrenglish , @stuartcturnbull , @nelson-george , @marilour , @rinconpoetico7 , @funshee , @amiegeoffrey , @loveah , @wongi , @balikis95 , @juniorgomez y @hazmat .

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency