The Ink Well Highlights Magazine #96

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.
The following are just a few of our favorite stories from March 1 to 7/ 2023.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author:@icyink

HUSH

image.png

Source

It was a whole new world, I couldn't believe my eyes. Humans feet touched the ground no more, they were conveyed in a four wheeled metal box. I saw tall buildings not made with thatched roof or mud but with bricks and woods of different colours. I saw light everywhere, I rightly thought that I was in the great beyond. As I looked on in amazement, one of the four wheeled metal boxes stopped in front of me and seated inside was the mysterious woman I met at the river bank. And she said "hop in and experience the best time of your life". I did as she said and hopped in. -

@icyink

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @rammargarita

Perseverance

image.png

Drawing by the author

Lord, take away this uncertainty, and this torment. I am so afraid that after taking this step I will be eliminated, and I will not be able to apply for that job, give me security, to achieve the proposed objective". Those days I went to school to fulfill my work schedule and that worry filled me with sadness. On the third day, with my ideas more organized, I evoked a saying from my grandmother: "He who takes risks can win or lose. But he who does not take risks neither wins nor loses. I persevered and with that idea fixed in my mind.-

@rammargarita

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @diikaan

One Long Night

image.png

Source

This wasn't what he envisaged for his first night at his dream house, and he could not scream as there was no one within a mile of where he was. So he summoned courage and tiptoed towards the door to confront whatever is lurking in the dark of his house. As he opened the door, he could hear footsteps retreating rapidly, but couldn't see anything, so he shut the door back immediately shivering in fear.
"am I going to die tonight"? He thought to himself as he sat back on his bed scanning the room for anything useful. -

@diikaan

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kemmyb

We Fear Nothing

image.png

Image generated using Dreamlike Art and edited with Canva

"You vile creature! Stay away from my daughter," Martina yelled.
Becka woke up with a start at the sound of a voice that seemed frightened and strange. She turned and paled at the sight of her equally pale and terrified mother. The sight of the shadowy, gigantic spider beside her bed made her eyes bulge.
She watched in slow motion as her mother ran from the door, fear, anger and determination etched on her face as she jumped on the shadowy spider. Her fingers were curved like claws, poised to tear the dark figure into irreparable pieces. -

@kemmyb
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @b0s

Thinking about my ex best friend

image.png

Source

You were always the outspoken one, the one with lots of friends. I had a good number of other friends as well, but couldn't match you in that category. I was more of the silent wise guy that's always sharing good advice and calculating intensely before making any move. It was a very good partnership and I'm sure it helped us make a large part of those formative years so much easier as well as more fun.
But as we grew we started growing apart. It was almost as sudden as it began. We talked less, visited each other less, played less, and almost as quickly as we'd become best friends it started to look like we weren't anymore. Though we still held on to the best friend tag, it was somewhat clear that we probably weren't that anymore. -

@b0s

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @balikis95

A Sneak Peek Into My Dreamland

image.png

Source

The moment Mrs. jones left my office, another person came in and we chatted. I listened again. It is what I prefer doing in this part of the job as teaching in an elementary school takes the first part of the day. Don't you find it amusing? Cos I do. It is loving and educative to see how children act. One minute they make the statement, "I will not play with you again" and the next minute you find them with the same person giggling endlessly. A kid's heart? It is so pure and true.
Smiling again, I left my counseling office at noon and went home. It is time to finish up the day's work with a final job. Writing. An amazing job if you'd ask me. -

@balikis95

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @jetta.amaya

As Calderon de la Barca said: That all life is a dream, and dreams are dreams

image.png

Source

That is why I have always believed that my dreams are deeply felt, that they are born from urgency or from the wound. Like the girls in the slums of Caracas, the Brazilian favelas or the Argentine slums, who dream in their little tin houses, that one day soon that man will arrive who will give them love and a dignified life, as it happens in the 6pm soap opera. Or the boy who plays soccer in the neighborhood street, without shoes or shirt, dreaming of Cristiano Ronaldo's luck, while urban cruelty is devouring him alive.

@jetta.amaya

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Thank you for reading our short story highlights magazine!

@jayna, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris, @itsostylish, @millycf1976 and @grindan

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86,87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @millycf1976 and @grindan.


How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @itsostylish, @stuartcturnbull, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @popurri, and @mrenglish.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency