The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 131

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from November 2 to November 9/ 2023.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @warpedpoetic

MIRROR

image.png

Pixabay

It was a woman that saved me. I came out of prison, half dead. I was completely broken, transformed. From that shattered mirror, I tried to build myself. I began by begging at motor parks. And there, she found me. She was a widow, she said as she gave me her phone number. Call me anytime, she said. I threw the piece of paper as soon as she was out of sight. I survived. On drugs and cheap street food, I survived. One night, beaten almost to death by my supplier for being unable to pay for my high, I heard my name. From troubled eyes, I peeped and there she was, her wings wide and glowing white, curved over her. She carried me to her home. She took care of me. She gave me life.

@warpedpoetic
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @george-dee

It's Okay To Dream Again.

image.png

Fhoto by the author

"I think it's time to let this pilot thing go," I told my best friend while he told me about how his dad was working on his admission.
"Why? My dad said you can become a pilot if you join the Nigerian Air Force," he replied and immediately, my hopes of becoming a pilot were renewed.
"Yes, I can be a pilot there but it would just be for combat," I replied.
"Pilot is pilot, you might find your way to study more abroad and become the pilot you wanted"
My friend encouraged me that day and I was motivated, I got the strength to try again.

@george-dee

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kei2

The Puzzle; Time

image.png

Pixabay

Hannah retrieved the photo from the album and began tracing the faces of her grandparents. She had missed them more than life itself. Then she noticed something she hadn't observed in the past. In the picture, beside the window was the side view of a girl in a red dress. The exact type Hannah had on. She appeared to be leaving the window when the photo was captured. Hannah was stunned. “Who could she be?” she whispered. When Hannah flipped the back of the photo, the words she read shook her.

@kei2

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @restcity

I'm Going In!

image.png

I could’ve said that I used to run down the halls with my old friends at my old school. I could have told them I wish school would end early and I could go to my old school and see my friends again. I could’ve said that at home, while my Mama naps all day I go to the live-action channel and watch Fierce Force Police Crew until something scary enough makes me change the channel. But I thought about those jam tarts again. Instead I chose the most detailed thing I could say about me and just said it.
“I’m Kaiden. My birthday is tomorrow.”

@restcity

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @diebitch

The secret ingredient

image.png

Pixabay

Malvika folded her arms and watched as her sister started making the potato curry.
"What if the secret ingredient is love?" her sister piped up.
They both looked at the tight-lipped woman staring back from the photo and burst out laughing.
"I am sure a woman who has written 19 leaves of mint in her recipe did not cook using love."
"Ugh, who adds precisely 19 leaves? I mean, you just sprinkle some on top." Her sister said it absent-mindedly as she stirred the curry.
Malvika's brows furrowed. "Give me the recipe album."

@diebitch

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @jjmusa2004

The examination I prayed to fail

image.png

Pexels

I joined the long queue of other students as we marched in a straight line into the academy, surrounded by fierce-looking soldiers with their fingers professionally placed on their rifles. "This is not the life I want," I soliloquy as I walked along the straight line in shirt and trouser. The night of my arrival at Kaduna happened to be the eve of the examination, and I kneeled down to whisper a prayer to my God. "Lord God, help me to fail this examination." Perhaps it was a selfish prayer, but I found it hard to turn my optimistic brother, who wished to have his dear younger brother also in the military.

@jjmusa2004

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @wongi

The Defeated

image.png

Pexels

Noo! My inner voice yelled. I wasn't mentally prepared to play a football match.
On arrival, the team we were playing against had female players who looked really intimidating. If I didn't know that it was an only female match, I could have sworn that those girls were boys. Yes, they looked that intimidating. At this juncture, all hope was lost. Our dream of taking the medal home was mercilessly tarnished. The game had already ended before it began.

@wongi
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png
@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , and @samsmith1971

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128,129,130

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish and @samsmith1971.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here


@jayna, @felt.buzz, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @itsostylish, @marlyncabrera, @selftheist, @stormcharmer, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marriot5464, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @universoperdido, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @eunice9200, @holler, @tomiajax and @ricurohemi28.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency