"Campus Girl"

1.JPG


there was a campus girl
who danced in a black dress
unaware of my eyes
that tried to capture her
in a poetic position
that could translate
into words on the canvas
that danced with passion
as I saw her in my mind's eye
dancing through the halls
of academia


An Ode to the Girl Who I Could Never Write


Girl | Girl I | Girl II | Girl III | Girl IV | Girl V | Girl VI | Girl VII | Girl VIII | Girl IX | Girl X | Girl XI | Girl XII | Girl XIII | Girl XIV | Girl XV | Girl XVI | Girl XVII | Girl XVIII | Girl XIX | Girl XX | Girl XXI | Girl XXII | Girl XXIII | Girl XXIV | Girl XXV | Girl XXVI | Girl XXVII | Girl XXVIII | Girl XXIX | Girl XXX | Girl XXXI | Girl XXXII | Girl XXXIII | Girl XXXIV | Girl XXXV | Girl XXXVI | Girl XXXVII | Girl XXXVIII | Girl XXXIX | Girl XL | Girl XLI | Girl XLII | Girl XLIII | Girl XLIV | Girl XLV | Girl XLVI | Girl XLVII | Girl XLVIII


3.JPG

4.JPG


2.JPG

The girl danced in the halls of academia and between old and dusty books. We danced together in a strange passion that did not align with the stars. But somehow, we made things work, with her shy movements and my own fears of being seen.

The books became backdrops to our dancing, to the abstract art that our movements forced upon us.

***

The girl recently appeared in campus halls, were I tried to capture her movements on film and in poems. But as always, she alluded to my capture. The words somehow did not align with the world that we lived in. But somehow, I managed to get some evidence of her dancing moves in photographs.

Taking me back to my days when I was stuck in class, hours on end sitting and thinking about the girl I could not write, the girl now danced in front of my eyes.

So please join me on this photographic journey as I take some photographs of the girl I could never write, as she danced in the halls of academia.


5.JPG

6.JPG


7.JPG


We danced with passion as we burnt our resemblances into the books lined against the walls. Impressions that will never again resurface as they were felt in the moment of academic freedom.

The girl became a dream that I could never capture.

The halls of her campus became the perfect backdrop when I accompanied her along her route. I followed along with my camera, as she walked in front of me. I could not stop myself, the photographic moment was too good not to take...

8.JPG9.JPG10.JPG

11.JPG


Memories fly so fast past you, that everything feels like a blur. In a sporadic moment of absolute passion, we tried to capture it, to slow down time so that we could dance in the freedom of existence.


12.JPG

13.JPG


14.JPG


15.JPG

16.JPG


The backdrop to the photoshoot was perfect. Like always, it was not planned as we were photographing something else. But as life would have it, the moment presented itself as one we could not avoid. It invited us to contemplate it, in such detail that it became a spectacle.


17.JPG

18.JPG


19.JPG

20.JPG


The moment was too good for us, as we danced in the allure and attraction of the nostalgia that transported us into the past, into a movie frame that we did not understand.

We became a frame in existence that we could not immediately make sense of.

I hope that you can make sense of it all and that you enjoyed the photographs.

For now, happy photographing and keep well.

All of the musings are my own, albeit inspired by the girl I could not write but who I found on campus. The photographs are my own, taken with my Nikon D300 and 50mm Nikkor lens.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now