This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Stuck in a Familiar Place

1.JPG


we find ourselves
in the familiar nightmare
in-between yesterday and tomorrow
stuck in everlasting change
we find ourselves
stuck in this familiar place
where dreams cross
with reality's absurdity


I found the girl wandering alone in old alleyways. The promise of a night's pleasure was off the table and the drunken memories faded into a dark abyss of reality. The walls cornered me and I suffocated as a result of my own nightmarish thoughts. She turned around and at once my heart gave away as if the platform which kept it in the right place just disappeared. She looked into my eyes and the whole game lost its meaning and all I could think about was poetry in strange chaotic colors.

This time, I found the girl in an old monument and decided to take some photographs of her and the building itself. I focused on some of the symmetry found in the structure. The girl decided to run off and I captured some of her in that motion of trying to get away. But like in a bad dream, she could not, and forever the moment is captured in the photographs. One might call it a "Perpetual Fleeing".

I hope that you enjoy these photographs of the girl who I could never write. As per usual, I reserve the end of the post for my uncanny philosophical musings. Without further ado.

Stuck in Familiar Place

2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.JPG

6.JPG

7.JPG

8.JPG

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

Postscriptum, or Perpetual Departure

she turned around and ran away

But I captured her in the photograph forever turning around. Perpetual movement captured in a still. What a paradoxical thought that is. Forever she will be turning around to face the camera, but the still is, well, still. She will not respond, she will not turn more, yet, she will always be turning in the photograph.

Similar to one's eye being caught in the continual movement of symmetrical architecture, there is no actual movement. It is a still photograph. But one also knows that I moved, the creator of these images. I moved to her, she moved away from me, I moved to the architecture, I moved away from it. The still is a product of movement, of change. But it is unchanging, it is itself unmoved.

We are drenched in paradoxes.

12.JPG

I hope that you enjoyed this rendition of the girl I could never write. And the monument's architecture/design. The arches were so beautiful and @urban.scout was so happy in playing along.

Happy photographing, stay well.

The photographs are my own, taken with my Nikon D300 and Nikkor 50mm lens. The musings and writings are also my own.