Breaking Bread - A Sourdough Photographic Journey

1.JPG


crumbling beneath her fingers
the bread breaks
leaving behind
a trail of life
that grows into nothing but
a spectacle of weeds


An Ode to the Girl Who I Could Never Write


Girl | Girl I | Girl II | Girl III | Girl IV | Girl V | Girl VI | Girl VII | Girl VIII | Girl IX | Girl X | Girl XI | Girl XII | Girl XIII | Girl XIV | Girl XV | Girl XVI | Girl XVII | Girl XVIII | Girl XIX | Girl XX | Girl XXI | Girl XXII | Girl XXIII | Girl XXIV | Girl XXV


We break a piece of bread and we pray to those who cannot afford the luxury of this delight. We break a piece of bread to celebrate the souls who devoted their lives to either figuring out the process of baking or those who have suffered their lives to grow the wheat we use in baking. We break a piece of bread to celebrate the small things in life, the taste of bread, the smell, the texture, the feeling in my hands of the cracking crust and the moist crumb. We break a piece of bread to enjoy life for what it is. And in doing so, we might gain more friends and less enemies. For who can distrust each other around the table if we break bread together? I might live in a utopian mindset, but breaking bread is powerful.

In this post, I found the girl I could never write eating my bread. We shared this intimate moment in breaking a slice and talking about nothing in particular. Life is simple, freshly baked bread, olive oil, pepper, vinegar. The small things in life.

In any case, in this post, I share with you a series of photographs of the sourdough photographing journey. I do hope that you enjoy it. For now, please enjoy these photographs of the girl and some delicious bread.


Breaking Bread


2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.JPG

6.JPG

7.JPG8.JPG

9.JPG

10.JPG

12.JPG11.JPG

13.JPG

14.JPG

15.JPG

16.JPG

17.JPG

18.JPG

19.JPG

20.JPG

Postscriptum, Baking for Peace

Can one ever bake for peace? The bread baker has the ability to create a peaceful situation in which food is shared, and a conversation ensues. But this is wishful thinking, but a good kind. I will keep on thinking that we can bake ourselves into a peaceful situation.

21.JPG

For now, I want to challenge myself to bake various types of bread and similar types of photographic shoots. A bread series, a bunch of bread. I can do that, who does not want bread? Flatbreads, flaky breads, babkas, ciabattas, sourdoughs, cinnamon buns... What other breads can I bake?

In any case, I hope you are well and that you enjoyed these photographs.

Happy photographing and stay well.

The writings in this post are my own. The photographs used in this post are also my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now