Lemon - Photographs and Haiku Poems

1.JPG


lemon burst sour words
a smile on your lips that tastes
of great happiness


An Ode to the Girl Who I Could Never Write


Girl | Girl I | Girl II | Girl III | Girl IV | Girl V | Girl VI | Girl VII | Girl VIII | Girl IX | Girl X | Girl XI | Girl XII | Girl XIII | Girl XIV | Girl XV | Girl XVI | Girl XVII | Girl XVIII | Girl XIX | Girl XX | Girl XXI | Girl XXII | Girl XXIII


She stepped on a lemon and the bursts of yellow sour flavours filled my life with such happiness that I needed to write poetry about the whole ordeal. The perfect yellow fruit, her sour fingers, the look on her face, the happiness that burst from her presence, and the remembering of our youthful life. I decided to write a series of haiku poems about her and the yellow fruit, the symbolic yellow dress that she wore in my mind. (The girl, @urban.scout, recently posted a book review in which she used some of the other Lemon photographs, if you are interested in some more photographs.)

In this post, I want to share with you some Lemony Yellow photographs of the girl I could never write. She also grabbed the camera from me and turned me into the subject as well. She told me to share them as well. So, I share with you some of her work as well. Betwixt the photographs, in my interspersed fashion, I share some of my poetry as well. Lemony Haikus. Please do enjoy.


Lemon


2.JPG


yellow happiness
your eyes gleam with such passion
when the words spring forth


3.JPG


lemon happiness
the sour taste reminds me of
a forgotten time


4.JPG


indulge in my words
sour bursts of simplicity
smiling so yellow


5.JPG


bite forbidden fruit
that reminds one of a youth
that was never so light


6.JPG


bite in yellow fruit
rosemary and nostalgia
a youthful regret


7.JPG


yellow dresses with
lemon-scented memories
puckered happy face


8.JPG


dance in the yellow
with me as we remember
lost love-lustful times


9.JPG


dance with me again
when the sour yellow sunlight
brightens our faces


10.JPG

Postscriptum, or A Lemony Event

I love lemons, I use them almost always in my cooking. They always remind me of rosemary which reminds me of my childhood. @urban.scout has her own reminders of lemons. It was inevitable that we would use lemons in our creative work sometimes. This is the beginning of a fruity exploration! We are lucky to have excellent lemons here in South Africa, which definitely influence our cooking. Various recipes call for lemon. And I use lemon juice in my cooking as well.

In any case, I really hope that you enjoyed these photographs and the poems. I hope that, if life gives you lemons, you will make some fresh lemonade!

Keep well and stay safe.

All of the photographs are my own, taken with my Nikon D3200 and Nikkor 50mm lens, either by myself or by @urban.scout (taking photographs of me). The writings and poetry are my own writing, albeit inspired by the scent of lemons!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now