Tesco Black Forest Gateau

Good Afternoon Foodies,

I wanted this retro dessert for sometime now and I managed to have some last night. I treated myself after working so hard this week and my weight was the lowest it has been for years! I couldn’t wait to tuck in.

59cd2a5f-c468-41f0-9757-660414f4e997-1.jpg

Tesco Black Forest Gateau

”Chocolate sponge layered with cream mousse and cherry sauce, decorated with Morello cherries in a cherry sauce and dark chocolate flakes.
Our frozen Black Forest Gateau which serves 8 and defrosts in 3 hours is a party table favourite and perfect after dinner treat. With three layers of chocolate sponge separated by cream mousse and tart cherry sauce, this classic is decorated with juicy Morello cherries, cherry sauce and a sprinkling of dark chocolate flakes."

I did have to wait three hours for this to defrost at room temperature. Then I put it in the fridge because the way the cream was looking, it looked like the gateau would melt in a short amount of time. I cut myself 1/4 of the cake. It might seem like a lot, but I can handle it and once I started to eat it, I was glad I didn’t cut it smaller. The cream round the outside seemed quite foamy and light and there wasn’t much flavour to it like I was expecting. I was expecting a rich, dairy cream taste. Neither taste or texture was there. The cherries too sated a bit sour and wishy washy. I was hoping they were going to be a rich, deep, sweet but tart cherry taste, but it wasn’t. The cherries were juicy though, but that was all I liked about them. The chocolate sponge was light too and you could see the layers of spume and cream. There wasn’t much of a chocolatey taste. Disappointed!

Now I know why this cake was £2. It tasted like a cheap cake and that is exactly what I got. I think I’m going to swerve this cake for a long time. Maybe next time I want one, I’ll go to a proper cake shop or bakery. I didn’t have anymore of it. It went in the bin.

Layla Baklava 1kg
Levantine Table Classic Baklava Selection
Mcvitie's Hobnobs The Fully Coated One in Milk Chocolate
Ridiculous Protein Bar - Wild Chocolate Peanut

Tesco 2 Cheese & Onion Bakes
Tesco 2 Steak Bakes
M&S Cottage Cheese with Prawns
Philadelphia Original
Philadelphia Lightest
Philadelphia Soft Cheese With Chives

Twinings Camomile And Honey

Mr Kipling Victoria Slices 6 Pack
Haagen-Dazs Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream
Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Peanut Caramel Crisp Chocolate Bar 278g
Lindt Gold Bunny Milk & Hazelnut 100G
Carrs Cheese Melts 150G
Dina Handmade Classic Baklawa Selction x12
Sainsbury's Strawberry Jam & Cream Doughnuts

Buxton Original Lemon Meringue Ice Cream Sorbet 440Ml

The Protein Works Protein Cookies - Triple Chocolate Trouble
Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate

Sweet and Savoury No.1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency