Guild Brawls With Pizza 2 - Big Wins Against Jacek, Rathe, Llama Lineups!

image.png

Time flies! Just completed the 31st brawl with my awesome guild, which is none other than Pizza 2 The Deep Dish!

  • Fun In The Discord Chats

Really appreciated the interaction in the Discord chats within the Pizza guilds. During the preparation phase, there's a lot of information sharing and discussion on who to fill each fray. During the brawls, there were reminders to members to complete their brawl battles. And after the brawls, there were celebratory messages and some members (including me) would write about our experience in the brawls. Aside from brawls, I thought the donations were also very well organised and tabulated, with lucky draws to incentivise donors as well.

  • Staying In Bronze Fray

For this brawl, I decided to stick to what I fought in the last fray, which was Fray 6, which was 3/2/2/1. I felt I was starting to find my grove and this fray is neither too difficult nor too easy for me.

Had 5 battles this time and it seems that I have adapted to life without Yodin Zaku. As the rental market was hot lately, I have rented out most of my cards and I was worried that I would struggle in this brawl. However, I exceeded my expectations this time despite facing extremely strong opposing lineups!

  • We Got 2nd!

So for the final result, we were back to the podium and finished 2nd out of 10 guilds and got 915 Merits! That's an awesome result!

image.png

Individually, I had 5 fights this time and I managed to win 4 of them. I almost thought I had a chance to top my guild but it was so close! Hehe!

image.png


Let's jump into the battles!

Battle 1 - WIN

Gladius Card Used: Whistling Damon

Didn't think I stood a chance when I saw Conqueror Jacek on the opposing lineup. With Blast in play, I picked cards that were faster in speed, i.e. 3 or 4, but they will still go after all the opposing cards because of Jacek's +2 Speed boost and yet another Speed boost from their tank.

Yet miraculously I won! It was really a total team effort for this. Credit to my summoner for the very important -1 Health effect, my tank's Thorns and my whole lineup of Snipe cards! There you have it, big win from a 100% Level 1 lineup!

MVP: Thaddius Brood

image.png


Battle 2 - WIN

Gladius Card Used: None

So after clearing Conqueror Jacek, I got Grandmaster Rathe as my next fight. It was tricky Earthquake battle and as you could tell, my lineup was a mess. I had trouble sorting my cards and the clock was ticking, in the final seconds, I quickly selected as many Flying cards I had and clicked "Submit".

I wasn't confident of this messy lineup (why is Mycelic Slipspawn in the middle?) but the hidden killer in this Opportunity battle turned out to be Grund. While Uriel was tough to handle, Grund hunted down most of the cards like a beast! Definitely the MVP in this one! Another big win from a Level 1, without Legendary cards too!

MVP: Grund

image.png


Battle 3 - LOSE

Gladius Card Used: Relenor Cleaver

Conqueror Jacek check. Grandmaster Rathe check. Next up I had to face Yodin Zaku. All good things must come to an end and my team had no answer to the Blast from the opposing team and I lost in this one.

MVP: None

image.png


Battle 4 - WIN

Gladius Card Used: Whistling Damon

Conqueror Jacek check. Grandmaster Rathe check. Yodin Zaku check. Next up was Scarred Llama Mage. With Kron. I have only won such lineups 5% of the time but miraculously, my Level 1 team (without Legendary cards!) took out this Llama/Kron combination with all 6 cards standing tall! If you noticed, this was the exactly the same lineup as my first battle. With 4 Snipe cards, the entire backline was taken out and for the first time, Whistling Damon displayed his powers.

MVP: Whistling Damon

image.png


Battle 5 - WIN

Gladius Card Used: Edith Emberstar

Conqueror Jacek check. Grandmaster Rathe check. Yodin Zaku check. Scarred Llama Mage check. Fortunately my final brawl was not against Byzantine Kitty. Lol!

Even though my team was just Level 1 cards, this was a very comfortable win. The opposing team was very slow in dealing damage compared to the strikes from my Axemaster and Edith Emberstar.

MVP: Edith Emberstar

image.png

So that sums up my 5 battles for this brawl! Big big wins against some of the top Legendary summoners, and with a depleted deck as well. Awesome first wins for Whistling Damon and Edith Emberstar!


Review Of Gladius Cards

Since I am able to use Gladius cards now, I thought I should review selected cards that helped me win in the brawls. Two Gladius cards which seldom featured in my brawls performed exceptionally well this time! Congratulations to Whistling Damon and Edith Emberstar for getting their first battle wins! Of course, please let me know if you have any tips in using these cards too as I am keen to learn and improve too!

image.png

CARD: WHISTLING DAMON
ELEMENT: DEATH
RARITY: COMMON
ABILITY: BLOODLUST, SNIPE

I hardly use Ranged Gladius cards because they are unable to attack from the first position (except for a few battle modifiers) and this means their accumulated Bloodlust would go to waste. However, Whistling Damon had not one but two big wins this time and the battles were against Conqueror Jacek and Scarred Llama Mage! I think it is because he pairs very well with the long list of Snipe cards for my Death deck. Definitely a newly found gem in this Gladius Common card!

image.png

CARD: EDITH EMBERSTAR
ELEMENT: WATER
RARITY: EPIC
ABILITY: BLOODLUST

Despite being an Epic card, I rarely used her because Relenor Cleaver and Isgald Vorst were usually my top choices. This time she was picked because Melee cards weren't allowed for the battle and I needed high mana cards. That said, I think her stats are pretty decent and she has enough HP to stay as the last card in the team.

Previous Gladius Card Reviews:

  • Isgard Vorst and Katrelba Gobson - HERE
  • Witch Of Warwick - HERE
  • Orella Abadon - HERE
  • Bertrol Gobson - HERE
  • Relenor Cleaver - HERE
  • Trapp Falloway - HERE
  • Ajax Lightfoot - HERE
  • Chimney Wallstop - HERE
  • Krash Wanderford - HERE
  • Gorth - HERE
  • Sarius - HERE

Brawl Reports Of Pizza 2 Guild And More!

If you are interested to follow the guild brawls of the Pizza guilds, feel free to check out some of the brawl reports below!


That's all I have! Let me know if you have any thoughts too!

As always, thanks for reading and have a pleasant day ahead!


If you are interested to sign up to play Splinterlands, my referral link is here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency