PIZZA Guild Brawl Report #2 - Jacek's Grand Entrance

pizza 1.png

Welcome to my 2nd Splinterlands Brawl Report, my first one being 5 months ago... oops.

I was recently promoted to Co-Leader of PIZZA 1: The Stuffed Crust, so I want to set a good example for my guildmates and be more consistent with these reports. Brawl reports are a great way to share our progress and strategies with each other as well as create for exposure for Hive.Pizza and our Splinterlands PIZZA Guilds.

Since I last reported, PIZZA 1 has moved up to Tier 2 brawls, and I've moved on to Fray 9: Silver League Chaos Legion only.

Neutral.png

This brawl also marks the introduction of the most recent Legendary airdrop summoner from Chaos Legion: Conquerer Jacek

Jacek, just dropped last week, features +2 Speed, Piercing, and Scattershot, an ability introduced in Chaos Legion release. After being trapped by the Efreet in Praetoria's Abyssal Caldera for centuries, Jacek is ready to wreak havoc with the Chaos Legion. Fortunately, my luck finally kicked in, and I found this nice little surprise waiting for me when I checked my airdrop status:


Conqueror Jacek_gold75%.jpg

Let's see if we can't put this new summoner to good use...
Neutral.png

Pizza Guild.gif

Battle #1 - Win
Ruleset - Reverse Speed & Spreading Fury

#1.jpg
With a low mana battle, you can either put all your hope into 1 or 2 higher health cards or spread it out and field a whole lot of lower cost cards. With Spreading Fury as one of the rules this battle, I wanted to take advantage of this. Fury will increase melee attacks and speed whenever your monster has taken damage. This means not only do you want a melee attacker, but you want one that can take some damage and still hang in there. Most low cost monsters just aren't build for longevity. So I put all my hope in Quora, who not only has a melee attack to go with an Obsidian boosted magic attack, but also has the health to take some damage, self-heal to keep from dying too quickly, and bloodlust that increases all stats each time she kills an opponent. I round out my lineup with Hill Giant, which has very good health for a 3 mana monster. My opponent went in the other direction, with more low mana monsters. This one's over in 4 rounds, with Quora as the last woman standing, 7 Magic/6 Melee and 15 Health strong, begging for more monsters to kill.
Neutral.png

Battle #2 - Win
Ruleset - Close Range & Noxious Fumes

#2.jpg

Ladies and Gentleman, Jacek has entered the arena. Now with Noxious Fumes in play, my first thought is who do I have with Immunity or Cleanse and I know my CL fire deck has both. Forgotten One gives me an Immunity monster so poison will have no effect at all and Scavo Chemist has Cleanse, removing poison from whoever is in the tank position. Jacek's role in this is pretty simple, provide speed to hit first/possibly dodge attacks and provide piercing so damage above any shield level will reduce health instead of being wasted. Everyone does their job well, and it results in win a round 5 win.
Neutral.png
Battle #3 - Win
Ruleset - Equal Opportunity & Even Stevens

#3.jpg

Not really to much I can say about this fight, my opponent was simply outmatched here. It was over 1 hit into round 2.

Neutral.png
Battle #4 - Win
Ruleset - N/A

#4.jpg

This opponent fled before I even began my brawls. Not sure if they timed out or didn't have the right cards.

Neutral.png
Battle #5 - Win
Ruleset - Aim True

Screenshot_20221002-204830.png

With Aim True, all melee and ranged attacks are guaranteed to hit. This means differences in speed, flying, and dodge have no effect (speed still affects order of attack). I decided to go heavy on attack, even if my monsters were slower, and went with Tarsa as my summoner, led by Grum and Chimney Wallstop as a 1-2 punch. This was by far the closest battle I had this brawl, my opponent's Isgald Vorst picking off my weaker monsters and growing stronger with bloodlust. Having 2 bloodlust monsters and guaranteed hits turned out to be the difference with Chimney Wallstop tearing through their final 3 monsters to win in Round 8.

Neutral.png
Battle #6 - Win
Ruleset - Heavy Hitters & Reverse Speed

#6.jpg
The Tarsa/Grum/Chimney combo worked last time, so why not try it out again? With Reverse Speed in effect, Grum is already as fast as he can get, then it's just a matter picking off my opponent one by one while Scavo Hireling prolongs Grum's survivability. This one went for 5 Rounds.
Neutral.png
Battle #7 - Win
Ruleset - Aim True & Healed Out

#7.jpg
One thing I haven't touched on is home field advantage, which is what I played to in this final fray. We as a guild have banished Obsidian when we are the home team. This is no big secret, you'll see it anytime you are up against us. What this means, especially for the Chaos Legion only frays, is that a major magic summoner is banned for use against us. I however av free to use Obsidian and partner it up with Quora to boost her magic attack. I place Mycelic Infantry upfront to absorb melee and ranged attacks, Mycelic Slipspawn uses taunt to draw away attacks from my tank, and Queen Mycelia gives everyone an armor boost. Once again, this one is done in 5 Rounds.
Neutral.png
That makes for a perfect 7-0 clean sweep for me which is certainly not usually the case, so I'm beyond happy with this result. Overall, we finished in 5th place as a guild which has more to do with not having all our frays filled than our performance. We're working on fixing that, but hopefully more on that with my next post.
pizza divider.png
0_UTeLHqgm0fvHlO5Z.png

New to Splinterlands? Use my Referral Link here. After you purchase as Spellbook, I will send you 100 dec and delegate some cards to help you get started.

Splinterlands is a collectible card game using blockchain technology where your Summoners and Monsters (Splinters) participate in 1v1 battles.

pizza divider.png
YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQPP3sBFzTrs3H4fa3xiZHJLpvVgBduXsXa76uJ59wkieTitD9zp34scrDeLgkD8PJgyUr9kJEYhBFrfRobBNBqb4sP74aFUZZfu5y5CndPv5N7y3f272gn.png
Join us on the HIVE.PIZZA Discord. You'll find a diverse community of gamers, musicians, artists, and crypto enthusiasts. There's weekly giveaways, competitions, trivia nights, and Scholarship Programs.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency