My Journey Through the Graphite World - Hunter and prey.

Today it's time to tell about my next drawing which I called Hunter and Prey.

I used to be an avid hunter myself, although I still am considering that fishing and mushroom picking various kinds of collecting and even the moment when I draw it's a kind of hunt because when I draw I hunt my thoughts and if I was successful as a hunter these thoughts are put on a sheet of paper under a layer of graphite and become material.

I depicted imaginary fish a swordfish or a sailfish and a flying fish that a predator hunts.

The hunting process is a philosophical thing, because the intended prey may be more insightful than the hunter and its day will be more successful, because it avoided the fate of becoming food for the predator and the predator will remain a hungry loser.

But everything can be exactly the opposite, but the drawing allows you to maintain some intrigue by stopping time at the moment when the scales can tip in one direction or another.

At first I created a sketch with light lines to understand the general situation of the picture.

The anatomy of fish is my absolute fantasy for example I am more familiar with the anatomy of the arowana fish a predator that can be seen in freshwater aquariums but I decided to fantasize and go to the ocean.

This is my second attempt to work in the style of dot drawing, applying precise strokes with pencils with a graphite rod that have different degrees of hardness.

The softer the graphite the richer the contours are.

It was not very easy for an inexperienced artist like me to understand how all the curves of the fish bodies and their structure would look with such a movement but I could not turn on the reverse already lol the hunt has begun!

About four hours after I started working I was able to put my pencils down on the table, it was January 4, 2023.

You know even those fish that we consider potential prey are often predators themselves they hunt small animals in water bodies and their own situations arise between them which can be called the phrase Hunter and prey.

This drawing after a year and a half, has practically not lost its layers of graphite which have not crumbled but perhaps I will think about finishing this drawing in a different drawing technique.

This time my hunt was successful.

This statement is true in light of the fact that my collection of drawings has been replenished like hunter's trophies.

You can see my previous drawings by clicking on the links to my posts below.


Zoom in on a photo for a closer view.

Links to a collection of my drawings in my posts:

  1. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Sequoia

  2. My Journey Through the Graphite World - On the edge of the world.

  3. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Dogmas about dinosaurs.

  4. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Quiet happiness.

  5. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Noah saw the land.

  6. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Rural Evryday Life.

  7. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Chapter Nine Genesis..

  8. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Keep the warmth in your heart.

  9. My Journey Through the Graphite World - The genealogy of the sons of Noah.

  10. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Human Pride.

  11. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Fisherman.

  12. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Abraham is on his way to Egypt.

  13. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Hammerhead shark.

  14. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Christmas in the village.

  15. My Journey Through the Graphite World - All inclusive.

  16. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Sunny day.

  17. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Market day.

  18. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Chef.

  19. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Sweet dream of a fisherman

  20. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Simple happiness.


reallygreatsite.com.gif


More to come!

Enjoy viewing the photos and reading the article!

Have a blessed day!


Category:Art, drawing, illustration.
Tools:Graphite pencils B3, B6, B8, HB and 2=HB, eraser, sharpener.
The format of a sheet of paper, canvas:Sheet of paper A5.
Location:Ukraine
Author:Author @barski. In my publications you will see only my author's works.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments