My Journey Through the Graphite World - Sweet dream of a fisherman

Today is Monday and this is one of the most unloved days for fishermen because they have to roll up their gear on Sunday and start thinking about other things not about fishing and such thoughts bring pleasure even without your presence on the shore of the reservoir.

I overslept today yes I overslept on Monday but on Saturday like all decent fishermen I wake up at the crack of dawn.

There was a time when I went fishing in the morning twilight and the time between five and seven in the morning is very treacherous.

Yes, it is treacherous in that the eyes begin to sleep.

It is difficult to say whether the eyes or the consciousness begin to sleep no it would probably be more accurate to say that the eyes fight sleep, and the consciousness slowly begins to sink into sleep and if you do not overcome this state you can fall asleep and miss all the morning bite.

There is a belief that if you dream of a fish it promises profit and if you dream of a large fish then the profit is expected to be large, but this is if you sleep at home and not on a fishing trip lol when you can miss all the fun and be left without a trophy fish.

In this case your fishing will turn not into profit but into a loss since you will spend money on the road on bait and on gear but sleep will steal all this from you.

Since I am not sleeping now and, perhaps you are not sleeping anymore I can welcome you to my blog and present you my next drawing with a pencil with a graphite rod which I drew in mid-January 2023.

It is difficult for me to say the exact date since I was working on several drawings at the same time and periodically added something or corrected some mistakes.

I called this drawing "Sweet dream of a fisherman".

You see a fisherman who worked hard with his oars so that his boat would end up in a great fishy place in the pond but he fell asleep and most likely this pike will deceive him but could have decorated the fisherman's gallery of trophies.

As I already said I drew with graphite pencils on A5 paper.

I decided to try a drawing style unknown to me before which is called "dot drawing".

Like a fisherman who experiments with baits for catching fish I try to experiment with styles to understand which of them are acceptable for me and which should be abandoned or learn to combine different drawing styles.

The work on the dot drawing is similar to the work of a tattoo artist who puts dot after dot, but I may be wrong since I do not follow the activities of tattoo artists but follow the activities of artists who draw on paper.

So, with sharpened pencils quick blows are applied in order to drive the graphite into the middle layers of the paper.

I must say it was an interesting job.

I can’t say that I was not happy with the result but my friend a famous realist artist criticized me for this.

Lol, he said that as usual I am unsurpassed in the field of creating an imaginary composition of the drawing but I should forget about the technique of dot drawing since in the circle of professional artists it is bad manners.

I thanked my friend for the advice and creative criticism but as a rule I do what I want to do and not what they point at me with their fingers lol.

What I was particularly interested in was how well the graphite holds onto the paper and how it will look over time and there is a connection to fishing lol it is important to know how well the fish bait holds onto the fishing hook.

A year and a half later I took this dotted drawing out of the folder with the drawing and was convinced that the dotted drawing technique is not the best option for long-term storage of graphite drawings the graphite quickly crumbles and such a drawing becomes pale.

But this is not a defeat fishermen never give up lol!

In any case this drawing was and is my story of a person who is trying to learn to draw on his own after a thirty-five year break when I did not hold a pencil in my hand in order to draw with it.

Fishermen love to tell fables and exaggerate a lot and when it comes to fishing I can also show the eye of the fish I caught with some exaggeration but when it comes to drawings I try to be extremely honest and not seem better than I really am.

But the drawing you saw today does not look like that anymore.

I worked a lot on it about two weeks ago and now it is a finished work for which it will not be so easy for a realist artist to find words of criticism but nothing is perfect and I will accept any criticism when the time comes to publish a post about the updated drawing Sweet dreams of a fisherman.

Below you can see a list of my previous drawings arranged in chronological order to understand how gradually my drawing skills developed.


Zoom in on a photo for a closer view.

Links to a collection of my drawings in my posts:

  1. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Sequoia

  2. My Journey Through the Graphite World - On the edge of the world.

  3. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Dogmas about dinosaurs.

  4. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Quiet happiness.

  5. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Noah saw the land.

  6. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Rural Evryday Life.

  7. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Chapter Nine Genesis..

  8. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Keep the warmth in your heart.

  9. My Journey Through the Graphite World - The genealogy of the sons of Noah.

  10. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Human Pride.

  11. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Fisherman.

  12. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Abraham is on his way to Egypt.

  13. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Hammerhead shark.

  14. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Christmas in the village.

  15. My Journey Through the Graphite World - All inclusive.

  16. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Sunny day.

  17. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Market day.

  18. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Chef.


reallygreatsite.com.gif


More to come!

Enjoy viewing the photos and reading the article!

Have a blessed day!


Category:Art, drawing, illustration.
Tools:Graphite pencils B3, B6, B8, HB and 2=HB, eraser, sharpener.
The format of a sheet of paper, canvas:Sheet of paper A5.
Location:Ukraine
Author:Author @barski. In my publications you will see only my author's works.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments