Pitkäperjantaivoileipä – Long Friday Sandwich :: Daily and Fresh 📷 (70/366)

Hello!

In Finland, particularly in the Lutheran faith, Good Friday – the day that Jesus was crucified – is called Pitkäperjantai, the Long Friday. There are many different types of Good Friday traditions between different sects of Christianity, mainly consisting of fasting and praying.

Since the late 19th century, a distinct semi-heretical family tradition has been passed through generations to our day.

My Great great grandmother Aleksandra, "Tyrvään Mummu" ("Granny from Tyrvää") who ran an Inn with her husband Herman in the former municipality of Vammala. It is said to have been her idea to serve "Long Friday Sandwiches" on Long Friday.

We have hypothesized that the reason for creating such sandwiches might have been that the use of oven might have been regulated or even banned on days of sabbaticals and fasting. Thus emerging a need for cold dishes.

My father thought Tyrvään Mummu's idea to create a sandwich came to her from "the last supper" of Jesus. But I doubt it, hence there is much disagreement over the date of the events in the Bible. It is possible though.

Many have criticized the practice of eating things on a day of fasting, but in our family, the tradition has truly spread.

While I am not sure whether all branches of the family share it, I know that my Great Grandmother, and her daughter my Grandmother, and her two sisters did pass the tradition unto their children.

I am certain that at least all my cousins from my father's side, their families, even my second cousins and their families share the tradition. And today I heard my brother's ex-girlfriend is also trying to indoctrinate her family into eating Long Friday Sandwiches.

Whether Tyrvään Mummu Aleksandra originally created the sandwich to serve to her guests at the Inn, we don't really know. It may be, but even if it didn't catch on for the public, I guess the tradition itself will live on for generations to come.


I hope you liked this history of our family's little Easter tradition.

See you again Tomorrow!


Next
Best of Daily and Fresh 📷📷 1/5
Daily and Fresh 📷📷 #71](/dailyandfresh/@gamer00/cyclops-jesus-fish-burger-from-burger-king-daily-and-fresh-71-366)
Daily and Fresh 📷 #72
Daily and Fresh 📷 #73
DDaily and Fresh 📷 #74


Weeklies
Weekly and Fresh 📸 #9
Weekly and Fresh 📸 #8
Weekly and Fresh 📸 #7
Weekly and Fresh 📸 #6
Weekly and Fresh 📸 #5


Like my post? 🍻 Buy me a beer! 🍻

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now