Sunday run: Longer, slower, plus fitness apps

I was talking to a colleague who does triathlons this week. He was saying there are benefits to doing slow runs. Mind you, his slow running is like me going fast. I seem to find it hard to run much slower than my regular pace, but I set off this morning with the intent to try it. My pace was partly forced by my activity this week.

You can see my average pace was 6:24/km when I might normally do under six minutes. Ignore the max pace as that's rarely accurate. I ran up to where the parkrun happens via a longer route and then extended the run in a few other places to get up to 13km. I've not run that far in a while and it wasn't too bad.

Run
Stats from Endomondo that I've used for years.

I saw lots of other runners out today. That's probably partly due to the Standalone 10k that I'm doing in three weeks. It's a good morning for running. 14C and dry.

By the way, I just saw that Kipchoge just broke the marathon record by over a minute! I think someone will break two hours eventually.

I was thinking about the various fitness apps I have on my phone. The latest is @actifit that will pay us SMTs eventually. According to their site over 20,000 people have qualified for tokens, but only recorded half as many activities. I have done a couple of posts with it, but the limitations are a little frustrating. It only logs steps with the option to enter some of your vital statistics. You cannot upload photos yet, but the developers are working on various features. @slobberchops posted some thoughts about this 'dapp'. I think it could be good for people who just want an easy way to log their activity and earn something to encourage them to keep it up, but we're in danger of getting our feeds flooded with such posts. I think Steemit or the other sites need to introduce filters to help deal with this.

This is the Actifit user interface as it stands. When you post you have to enter your posting key. It should really be using Steemconnect.

Actifit

I also have Google Fit. This recently got a makeover and I'm still getting used to it. It tries to automatically log what activities you've done, but sometimes gets it wrong. It may think I was cycling when I was actually on the train. Previously you could delete invalid activities, but I can't see how to do that now. You can set your own targets. I see these apps as a way to 'gameify' your activity. I do like stats, but I don't take them too seriously.

Google Fit

Then I have Mii Fit that pairs with my Xiami Mii Band 2. I bought this as I needed a new watch. It counts steps and can take pulse readings, but only when you ask it to and you need to be standing still. There's a newer model, but I don't know if it's any better. The main thing I look at in the app is how much deep sleep I got. I don't know how accurate this is, but it usually says I didn't get enough. I'm tempted by the Xiaomi Amazfit watch to get more heart rate data from my running.

Mii Band

Note that all these apps recorded different numbers of steps so far today. They ought to be able to use a common source for that data really. Google Fit does take data from Endomondo and Mii Fit, but they can't all seem to sync up on what weight I entered and I can't be bothered to do it for each of them.

I know some people use the social features of fitness apps to compare themselves to friends, but I don't know a lot of people who run and so that doesn't matter too much to me. I only really care about my own stats.

It's been a very active weekend for me. I also had a swim last night, but only for a few minutes as our pool was a bit cold. I've also done some gardening, but that's a never-ending job.

I hope you've having/had a great weekend whatever you have been doing.

Live is for living. Run free and support the runners of #RunningProject.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center