Is there really any value in ActiFit?

There’s so many dApps showing up; one here and one there and what do I think of them? They are great and I’m generally positive about all of them IF they add something of value to the STEEM blockchain.

sqzx2sst1l.jpg
Source

Does Actifit add anything of value? Not to be negative, but the best I can come up with right now is, ‘It could do’, or ‘it has some potential’.

I’m seeing more Actifit posts appearing on my feed and rewarding tokens and votes for running and other activities is a great idea except all we are seeing as viewers is, ‘I ran 7450 steps’ and earned some tokens.

To be blunt, its’ just not interesting reading and dare I say, it’s less interesting than even @steemhunt posts.

@steevc wrote an Actifit post that included some content other than ‘I ran blah blah steps’ a few days back and my feeling was that this is a cool new dApp that you can integrate your running stories around.

Little did I know that @steevc had to post it from his phone, and then go back and add the extra content by editing the article in Steemit or some other Steem editor. This is far from ideal.


1zrtwbgee4.jpg

Yes phone apps are all cool and great for little titbits of information but does it make for good reading or just plain boring statistics?

@bingbabe got all interested when I mentioned Actifit several days ago. As an avid runner she would likely gain most of Actifit tokens in existence in a short period and I would love to promote this to her.

I would like to suggest to the @actifit team that you create a desktop application or some web interface that we can link our activities too BEFORE they are posted to Steemit. You idea is awesome but it’s not complete yet.

np1m2oaqmr.jpg
Source

Seeing a couple of lines of text and day after day is going to send me to sleep. I unfollowed someone last week due to being tired of reading about @steemhunt posts.

The question is to people who are posting with Actifit on a daily basis with little other than your stats is, 'do you want to risk alienating your audience'?

I am not going to unfollow anyone who posts using Actifit and maybe I am being a little outspoken on this topic, but if someone unfollows you who is deemed a regular you would probably want to know why.

Several months ago, something else turned up that was related to answering questions and we got this flurry of one line posts that were of little value to anyone.

It quickly died a death never to be seen again. I can’t even remember the name of it, it was that unremarkable.

e5c4o2h1vt.jpg
Source

I would hate @actifit to head the same way as that. If any @actifit representatives are reading this, the please heed the advice.

Your idea is great and I love dApps, but what it produces needs to be read worthy material and worthy of our votes.

Running journals can be interesting; you can be accosted by thugs, have plant pots thrown at you, have hungry man eating dogs chase you down the street or witness cows being abducted by aliens during your run, or ALL of these things on a good day.

What if you could merge this outstanding interesting content inside an Actifit wrapper. Food for thought?


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center