My A to Z of parkrun locations.

Ashgrove parkrun was the start of my Alphabeteer challenge way back in 2019. I was not really that excited about it, but a running friend was keen and I was just tagging along to keep him company. I was happy enough running at one of my local events but he came up with this crazy idea to travel to the north side of town on New Years Day. The idea was to pick up, not only two new parkruns but ones starting with different letters of the alphabet on the same day, I just rolled my eyes. Back then New years day was a special event day and to celebrate the new year, parkrun would allow different starting times so you could get to both if you were keen.

There is no X parkrun any where in the world. I reckon it would be great for tourism in your area if you could get one approved. People have tried. Councils have build 5 kilometre marked paths and named parks starting with an X but parkrun HQ seem reluctant. Tourists in large numbers can cause problems in an area not designed for big numbers of people.

The alphabet is probably the most popular parkrun challenge but not always the easiest depending on where you live and how many parkruns you have nearby. We are lucky to have quite a few close.

Screenshots of the 5km runner app.

V is for Varsity Lakes
Z was Zillmere.
It took me more than 6 years to complete my parkrun alphabet and I am currently only two more short of my second alphabet. I just need a second I and Z. We have no plans at the moment to pick them up but who knows in the future maybe on another trip.

All photos in this post have to be credited to the parkrun volunteer photographers who give up there run and time each week so I get to see what I actually look like while running.

To celebrate my 10 years of parkrun, I thought I would make a few posts of all the different parkrun events I have visited.
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-the? 1 to 10
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-11? 11 to 20
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-21? 21 to 30
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-31? 31 to 40
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-41? 41 to 50
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-51? 51 to 60
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-61? 61 to 70
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-71? 71 to 80
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-81? 81 to 90
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-91? 91 to 100
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-101? 101 to 110
@new.things/my-parkrun-tourist-obsession-111? 111 to 120
@new.things/my-favourite-parkruns-the-top 10
parkrun is a not for profit community event held every weekend. It started in England and has now spread to over 20 countries world wide. If there is not one near you, I would have a look at helping start one so I can come and visit you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now