Share Our World: The Queen City

In October I went to Cincinnati for a work conference. I stayed right downtown Cincinnati close to the Duke Energy Convention center. That made it great for walking around downtown.

The Queen City. From what I can gather, it is called the Queen City because in the 1800's it attracted thousands of new setters wanting to move west. So it became the Queen of the West. 1

Note: Most of the titles are linked to my more in depth post.

Graters Ice cream

As I was boarding the plane in Arizona a local Ohioan recommended I go to Graters. People in Ohio love their Graters! I went on the night I arrived and later when Sara came to explore the city with me. I am not a huge ice cream fan. When I do get it I usually get chocolate and I like coconut too and chocolate and coconut are yummy!

Street Art

In this post I talked about the 7 murals that I saw as I was walking around the city.


Day 1

Cincinnati Art Museum

The first place I went to see is the Cincinnati Art museum. 2
It is such an impressive museum and I loved being there wandering around the great art, especially outside!

  1. 67,000 works of art
  2. 6,000 years span
  3. Amazing artists
  4. Free to the public through a generous donation

I did a whole post on the museum
Here are some of my favorites

Cincinnati Conservatory

After spending some time in the museum I walked to the conservatory, which is a mile away. It was a lovely fall day and I enjoyed the walk.

There are 5 different houses and the outside grounds
The Bonsai Gallery
The Orchid House
The Desert House
The Palm House
The Fern House



Art and plants are two of my favorite things so this afternoon in Eden Park was wonderful.

Day 2

Ohio River Walk

My friend Sara came to visit and we went and walked along the river and had a yummy dinner at Montgomery Inn.

We had a blast renting motorized scooters and zipping around the town.

Day 3

Taft Art Museum

Sara was a wonderful friend to take to the Taft Art Museum. We walked to the museum from the hotel and after we went to Wahlburger, cause Sara really likes Backstreet Boys.

The Taft Museum is the collection of Anna and Charles Taft who collected art in the early 1900's. I really enjoy museums that are clearly a persons collection and it is even better when it is in there home. The Isabella Stewart Gardener Museum in Boston is my favorite museum.

I love taking close ups pictures of the art.

There you are... the highlights of Cincinnati from the three days I was there...working. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it and would really like to go back.

Personal 30 Day Challenge- Day 5

Share Our World Series

2021

Ohio
Share Our World: The Queen City
Share Our World: Ohio River walk
Share Our World: Cincinnati Conservatory
Share Our World: Cincinnati Art Museum

Wyoming
Share Our World: String Lake, Wyoming
Share Our World: Jenny Lake, Wyoming
Share Our World: Discovery Trail at Jenny Lake
Share Our World: Hidden Falls and Inspiration point Hikes
Share Our World: Camping in the Tetons
Share Our World: Teton Loop

Utah
Share Our World: Capitol Reef National Park Overview
Share Our World: Fluted Wall, Capitol Reef NP
Share Our World: Fruita School Capital Reef NP
Share Our World: Grand Wash Hike-- with rating
Share Our World: Sunset drive in Capitol Reef
Share Our World: Capitol Reef Scenic Drive
Share Our World: Wild Horse Slot Canyon Hike

Other
Share Our World: Sabino Canyon
Share Our World: Agave Garden
Share Our World: Saguaro National Park
Share Our World: Arizona- Sonora Desert Museum
Share Our World: Cactus Garden
Share Our World: The White Dove of the Desert
Share Our World: Mayo Clinic Nature Trail
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix, Arizona
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in 1.4

All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now