FIVE KILOMETERS FROM THE CITY

I had to buy some stuff in the shopping mall today. Since there are no shopping malls in my hometown, I drove to the nearest city.

img_2043_malo.jpg

The night was cloudy, there was a bit of fog at dawn, but at this point of the morning, the weather was getting clear and sunny.

img_2046_malo.jpg

The sunlight was pretty inspiring so I stopped about five kilometers from the city ...

(Enlargeable)

... in the place by the road with a good view of the suburbs ...

img_2048_malo.jpg

... and the fields & groves in between the city and the town in which I live.

img_2051_malo.jpg

The powerlines are usually only a nuisance in the landscape, but in this case, they provide a backbone to the composition, and they kind of hold the picture together.

img_2057_malo.jpg

The most prominent building in this photograph is the general hospital. The tall cranes behind it are part of the shipyard.

img_2044_malo.jpg

This shot was taken with the zoom on maximum.

img_2049_malo.jpg

I took two more photographs with the camera pointed in direction of my hometown ...

img_2047_malo.jpg

... caught a bit of mist by the road ...

img_2066_malo.jpg

... and continued towards the city.

img_2100_malo.jpg

Soon I reached the shopping mall, and when the shopping was done, I decided to take a couple of shots from the parking lot.

(Enlargeable)

Little lamps were hanging in clusters from the rooftop ...

img_2099_malo.jpg

... and the stars were staring at me from the storefront window.

(Enlargeable)

In these two photographs, I caught the man who was working around the decorative plants on the small roundabout in between two large parking areas.

img_2069_malo.jpg

One of the houses across the street was busy expelling the smoke through the chimney ...

(Enlargeable)

... the Christmas lights were rhythmically flashing ...

img_2095_malo.jpg

... and that's it.

img_2067_malo.jpg

Shopping malls, parking lots, and suburbs are some of the most boring things that a city can offer, so I consider myself lucky with these modest findings.

img_2097_malo.jpg

Before driving away, I spent a minute or two watching the shifting shapes made by the smoke.

img_2061_malo.jpg

On the way back I stopped in the same place five kilometers from the city. From there I had five more kilometers to my hometown. The place is situated right in between the two. The sunlight was slightly more subdued this time. It was a minuscule change. Nothing worth mentioning. But I mentioned it nonetheless because I don't know what else can I say to make the post a bit longer.

img_2063_mala.jpg

Here I zoomed a bit more.

(Enlargeable)

This smoke was photographed at the entrance of the town in which I live ...

img_2101_malo.jpg

... just before the first houses. Someone was burning the autumnal foliage.

AS ALWAYS IN THESE POSTS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK - THE END.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now