Making Pancakes At Home

I've always found joy in cooking as a way to unwind and take a break from my phone. I picked up my love for cooking from my parents and grandmother - they're good at it!

I was scrolling through TikTok and stumbled upon this guy who made pancakes. He had his recipe and was generous enough to include it in his post. I tried creating it at home and had minor revisions for I only worked with what the available ingredients were present at that time.

The pancake recipe mixture:

  • 1 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/4 cup milk + 1 tbsp vinegar or lemon juice
  • 1 egg (yolk and egg white separated)

IMG20240712162213.jpg

I started to first mix all of the dry ingredients, meticulously following the measurements in the recipe.

IMG20240712162242.jpg

I mentioned that I had to work with the ingredients readily available at that time and so I had to use powdered milk.

IMG20240712163621.jpg

I mixed the dry ingredients with the wet and slowly mixed it. I honestly got weirded out by why is there a need for vinegar. Hahahaha. Because on my mind, pancakes should smell sweet and fresh and not vinegary smell.

I heated the non-stick pan and since I didn't have butter at that time, I made use of the margarine. The melted margarine served as the oil for my pancakes.

IMG20240712170128.jpg

And after some time of cooking, this is how it turned out. If you're from the Philippines, you probably had pancakes/hotcakes from the carnival before. That is what it tasted like. Haha, that's why I added margarine and sugar to it.

It's not that bad but I was aiming for a different taste. If I were to rate it, it would be 6/10. Maybe because of what I used, it altered the way the recipe should've turned out. Also, I knew I didn't beat the egg white properly that's why it was not fluffy.

Anyway, not bad for an afternoon worth relaxing. How about you, what have you been cooking lately?

#recipe #snacks #food #foodie #philippines #hiveph #foodiesbeehive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now