A Countryside House Tour

House Tour14.JPG

We do not have our own home. We have been living a nomadic lifestyle since we returned to the Philippines. However, when we left the Middle East, we had a 20 ft shipping container with us carrying all of our previous furniture.

In the last 5 years, we have moved three times. Along with every move, our 20 ft container of household goods followed us. It wasn't easy, but we couldn't part ways with them for two reasons:

  • Good quality furniture in the Philippines is extremely expensive
  • Sentimentality

For the last day's topic of the 30 Day Blogging Challenge by @tegoshei, I will be sharing a tour of the house we have previously lived in for three years in Cebu.

House Tour28.JPG

House Spotting

We spent months looking for a house to rent long term. The main challenge was to find a house that would fit all of our existing furniture. A house that would comply with the right orientation and floor layout according to Feng Shui.

Feng Shui is something that I believe in and apply whenever I design a house, so it was automatically integrated into our home as well.

We visited 20 plus houses in total.

We almost gave up after we have been used as a bargaining chip for a house that we have previously set our eyes on. Luckily. we found this 2 bedroom bungalow with 2 bathrooms that was still under construction at that time. The landlord was kind. The area was safe and we had absolutely lovely neighbors.

We waited until it was finished. I was able to ask the landlord to add minor modifications with plumbing and to paint all of the intricate moldings in white.

Untitled1.jpg

The View and the Location

We lived in the middle of a rice field. What I like most about that house was the 270 degree countryside view of rice paddies.

The local market was just one block away. The main poblacion (town) is less than 2 kilometers away.
I propagated the chrysanthemums from one small plant throughout the years and filled the perimeter of the house with them and even gave some to friends and neighbors.

House Tour7.JPG

It was peaceful. I watched farmers plow the fields, plant rice and harvest them in different times of the year. The mountain backdrop and mango trees were always a sight to behold. Before sunset, we regularly took leisurely strolls around the area. Croaking of toads was our evening soundtrack.

The house was still undergoing fence construction and exterior work when we moved in. This went on for another two months. We enjoyed daily visits from our neighbor's cows, goats and chickens.

House Tour5.JPG

Home Improvements

The house already came with its materials, lighting and paint which I didn't select. I had to work with whatever was there. We didn't want to spend more than we should because it wasn't ours. I worked with the space to fit our own furniture.

Living Area Before:

House Tour.JPG

Work in Progress: Lengthened the existing short curtains into two-toned drapery

I bought a cheap taupe fabric and lining in the city and had textile students supervised by their teacher from a nearby university sew them.

House Tour12.JPG

Living Area After:

House Tour11.JPG

House Tour19.JPG


Living Area Before:

House Tour3.JPG

Living Area After:

House Tour21.JPG

House Tour16.JPG

House Tour18.JPG


Dining Area Before:

House Tour2.JPG

Dining Area After:

House Tour20.JPG

The Dining Table is my workstation. I could watch my daughter from where I was sitting and work on projects peacefully.

I had this 1.5 meter x 2.0 meter empty canvas. I finally finished it while we were living here. It's entitled The Golden Child

House Tour26.JPG

House Tour22.JPG

House Tour13.JPG

House Tour8.JPG

Our Bedroom

House Tour9.JPG

House Tour23.JPG

This was the view from our bedroom upon waking up in the morning. I do miss this landscape sometimes. We had three beautiful years worth of memories in this house.

Hope you enjoyed the house tour.


That's it! Mission accomplished. I will be going back to my usual travel, food and life musings.

Thank you @tegoshei for creating this 30 Day Blogging Challenge! Join in the fun and check out previous posts if you haven't yet:

Day 1 What's the Story Behind My Username

Day 2 Random Things About Me Over Coffee

Day 3 My Unusual Day Last Weekend

Day 4 The Story of Us

Day 5 What I Am Afraid Of

Day 6 Mes Bêtes Noires (My Pet Peeves)

Day 7 Create a Life Story Playlist

Day 8 Anyone Up for a South Korean Food Crawl?

Day 9 What's in My Bag

Day 10 The Odd New Girl in High School

Day 11 If You Had a Superpower, What Would It Be?

Day 12 Simple Things to Do to Slow Down and Unwind

Day 13 My Top 5 Most Used Smart Phone Apps

Day 14 Movies that Inspire Me to Travel

Day 15 The Girl that Flies Off at a Tangent

Day 16 The Girl Who Wore Her Heart on Her Sleeve

Day 17 Fridge Raid

Day 18 A Childhood Memory: Through the Hole

Day 19 What My Minimalist Phone & Laptop Look Like

Day 20 [Eng/Fr] A Letter to My Baby Girl || Une Lettre à Ma Fille

Day 21 Who's Your Life's VIP (Very Important Person)?

Day 22 What I Am Grateful For

Day 23 Play The Piano At The Tokyo Metropolitan Government Tower

Day 24 Tea Time

Day 25 Imaginary Travel Through Food

Day 26 My Top 5 Best Animated Movies for the Whole Family

Day 27 The Road to a Happy Place

Day 28 Saying Goodbye to Expat Friends

Day 29 Addictive Korean Drama for a K-Drama Newbiea

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency