My Unusual Day Last Weekend

Discovering Arni Panagsama Beach.jpg

Hello Hivers!

Today's Day 3 of the 30 Day Blogging Challenge by @tegoshei asks for Your Day in Detail.

If I were to share with you what actually happened to me today, I bet that you will be snoozing with me after the sixth line because I spent the whole afternoon sleeping after a mediocre morning filled with household chores. How exciting is that?

Last weekend, I turned a year older. 42

With that a friend asked me to read The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Is 42 really the answer to the ultimate question of life, the universe and everything? To those who've read the book, what are your thoughts?

In these times of the pandemic where most countries have started opening their business doors, we are still in limbo. Our small coastal town of Moalboal in the south of Cebu is presently at a standstill. My family and I have spent the last few months indoors except for grocery runs every seven to ten days.

I woke up to the voice of my 6 year-old daughter greeting me, "Good morning Maman, happy birthday!" I thanked her along with a hug. She handed me a small piece of white paper with a colorful sketch of myself wearing a red dress next to her Dad in a red suit who equally wore a bright red lipstick.

"Why is Papa wearing a red lipstick?," I asked her and to that she replied, "I didn't have any pink crayon." Right. :)

It was around half past ten in the morning. I found Yohann at the computer, already on the Hive. As I made my way to make coffee in the kitchen, I silently scolded myself for all of the late nights binge-watching Korean series.

I hit the showers and pulled out a long white dress buried behind my drawers that I haven't worn in years. "42," I reminded myself in the mirror. Talking to my reflection was a childhood habit that I have carried with me throughout my life. "Let's make today different"

Yohann, Anais and I all covered with face masks drove to Panagsama Beach on a scooter, a few minutes away from where we live. We found @scubahead at the dive center with his laptop spread on the solid wood table facing the sea. We spent some time there chatting. The beach was deserted, except for three Cebu Dive Centre staff doing a shore cleanup.

Past lunch time, we were craving for burgers, but the places we frequently went to were closed. We left the dive center for the only cafe that was open that morning.

Smooth Cafe.jpg

There was no one in the al fresco dining area. I ordered Adobo Lami Kaayo Burger -a Filipino style Vegan Burger made with banana heart patty with adobo sauce, lettuce, tomato, onions and vegan cheese. Yohann asked for El Picante, a Vegan Mexican spiced Burger with red bean patty, veggies, vegan cheese and special sauce. Both burgers come with crunchy sweet potato chips and Atsal, a Filipino style pickled papaya salad. We ordered bacon and eggs wrap for Anaïs.

Adobo Lami Kaayo Burger

El Picante Red Bean Burger

My Birthday Treat Iced Americano

My iced americano came with two bite sized brownies. Perfect birthday treat. The dishes arrived later and our sumptuous meal filled us to our hearts' content.

We went back home. I spent the rest of the afternoon replying to birthday greetings and private messages. An online video group chat with my siblings and their families who are living in different parts of the Philippines made me happy.

My Old Photo of The Venue: Archery Asia

Before sunset, @iamyohann and I joined @scubahead, @millycf1976, @biggypauls and his wife at the archery club to celebrate my birthday. I originally planned to host a private meal at home but meeting up somewhere else turned out to be a more relaxing alternative.

Conversations poured over drinks and paninis. I failed to take photos but I just realized that it may have been an unofficial #Hive meet up.

After dinner, @scubahead and @millycf1976 went home, while the rest of us spontaneously extended the night at the Garden Village for a game of pool and more drinks.

The day unfolded to be exactly as I wanted in front of the mirror that morning. A silent wish was all it took. Today was different, indeed.

Check out previous posts on the challenge:
Day 1 / Day 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency