A Childhood Memory: Through the Hole

Girl on the Grass2.jpg

Hello Hivers!

At times, I feel like my childhood was short. Happy events were buried under unpleasant ones, forced to grow up quicker than I should. Today's Day 18 of 30 Day Blogging Challenge by @tegoshei motivated me to summon a favorite childhood memory.

Weekend at my Grandmother's House

I was bubbling with excitement at the backseat of the car. Sunny Sundays.

When my parents were still together, my father occasionally took us to spend the weekend at his Mom's, at Abuela's house. My cousins' screams could be heard echoing at the junction of Road 29. Once a quiet street in a residential community right next to a big golf course.

My parents, younger brother and I, pushed the green gate open to a small country-style 70s bungalow. It had a small yard at the front of the house. The aroma of Abuela's Spanish Cassoulet welcomed us at the door along with the scent of pine wood. Jazz music filled the house from a huge wooden phonograph that served as credenza across the living room.

My cousins, Nikki, Makee, Patrick and Karla bounced with glee on the front yard which was bordered by my grandmother's orchids and hedges. They screamed the name of their favorite super hero at the top of their lungs. They ran back and forth, tirelessly and with boundless energy.

Escape Plan

Our parents gathered together at the adults' table. Children were forced to take afternoon naps after lunch.

That afternoon, my cousins and I were put to bed by our parents inside the ground floor guest room. The bedroom door was left ajar. The clicking of tiles and muffled laughter could be heard from the room. Our parents were engrossed playing a game of Mahjong at the covered porch. We failed to sleep and sneaked out of the house through the side door instead. They didn't notice that we were gone.

We ran to the end of Road 29 in Project 6 and crawled into a small hole on the hollow block wall of the golf course.

The huge expanse of freshly cut grass made my jaw drop. I've never seen such an empty wide open space before. My cousins felt the same thing. The hole on the wall took us to this magical land, with holes on the ground that left us wondering what they were for.

We were silent for a moment, observing the green terrain. We glanced at each other, waiting for each one's signal on what to do next.

Right on cue, gigantic smiles were plastered on our faces all at the same time. We all ran towards different directions.
Freedom.

I ran as far and as fast as I could ever run.
I cartwheeled even though I didn't know how.
I shouted and danced and rolled on the grass.
I lay there. I watched the clouds gently moving against the blue sky.
This amazing feeling of liberation consumed me.
My cousins joined me on the grass.
In awe, we all wanted to lay there forever.
That golf course was our paradise.
It was my best childhood memory.

Girl on the Grass.jpg

We never told our parents about that escape until five years ago, when I casually mentioned it to my Mom. She freaked out and said that they (the parents) would have never allowed it.

Yes, we were crazy 4-7 year old kids.

My cousins still remember that day. We talked about it on separate occasions when we reunited as adults. The magical hole in the wall will always be cherished by us all.

What was your favorite childhood memory?

Thank you for reading. Check out previous posts if you haven't read them yet and please join us in the 30 Day Blogging Challenge by @tegoshei:

Day 1 / Day 2 / Day 3 / Day 4 / Day 5 / Day 6 / Day 7 / Day 8 / Day 9 / Day 10 / Day 11 / Day 12 / Day 13 / Day 14 / Day 15 / Day 16 / Day 17

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency