VEGAN RICE-ILLICIOUS BLUEBERRY RICE MUFFINS WITH CHOCOLATE CASHEW RICE COOKIE

DSC_0122.JPG

Good evening steemit. Though I had 3 weeks to cook something for this new monthly food contest, as with many things in my life, I left it until the last moment to make it happen. I hope my entry is not too late.

First thing you hear about this new food contest? Check out TASTY TUESDAY - RICE-ILLICIOUS COOK OFF SEASON 1 for more info.

Special thanks to the @qurator, @capduagajah and @foodiesunite to make this new and exciting food contest happen.


This month’s mandatory ingredient was rice flour. Though I have been living in SE-Asia for over 5 years it is the first time I use rice flour in my cooking. I know… After all these years I haven’t gotten used to eating a lot of rice or rice products. Shame on me…

Anyhow, the other day I bought a package of rice flour and came up with this recipe. At first, I was thinking to make one of my favorite Cambodian sweets which is a rice flour steamed bun infused with pandan leaf and filled with coconut and pandan paste.

DSC_0003.JPG

But as I said this is the first time I use rice flour and I honestly wouldn’t know how to make steamed buns lol…. So I though stick to something you know… muffins and cookies.

BLUEBERRY RICE MUFFINS WITH CHOCOLATE CASHEW RICE COOKIE


Since I am a plant-based muncher, this recipe is dairy- and egg-free.

DSC_0145.JPG

INGREDIENTS


For the blueberry muffins (makes 6 muffins)


  • ¾ cup blueberries

Wet ingredients


  • 1 chia egg (1 tbsp chia seeds + 3 tbsp water)
  • ½ cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp raw palm sugar or raw honey (normal sugar works too but add to dry ingredients)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil

Dry ingredients


  • 1 cup rice flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp Himalayan pink salt
  • 1 tsp lime zest

DSC_0018.JPG

INSTRUCTIONS


To make the chia egg, mix 1 tbsp of chia seeds with 3 tbsp of water and let sit for a few minutes. A sticky gel-like substance will form.

Preheat the oven to 425°F or 220°C

If not using a silicone mold or non-stick muffin tin, lightly grease a 6-cup muffin tin.

In a mixing bowl, combine rice flour, baking powder, salt, and lime zest. Mix well.

DSC_0020.JPG

In another bowl, mix the chia egg, raw palm sugar, almond milk, and coconut oil until well blended.

FYI: I used raw palm sugar which is a sticky wet ingredient, if using normal sugar add to the dry mix instead.

DSC_0024.JPG

DSC_0026.JPG

Add in the dry ingredients and mix just until combined. Then carefully stir in the blueberries.

DSC_0028.JPG

DSC_0032.JPG

Pour the mixture into the muffin tin. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the edges are slightly browned.

DSC_0034.JPG

DSC_0070.JPG

Allow muffins to cool for 5 minutes before removing from the tin.

DSC_0091.JPG

BLUEBERRY RICE MUFFINS WITH CHOCOLATE CASHEW RICE COOKIE


Since I am a plant-based muncher, this recipe is dairy- and egg-free.

INGREDIENTS


CHOCOLATE CASHEW RICE COOKIE (makes 1 baking tray of cookies)


INGREDIENTS


  • ⅓ to ½ cup cashew nuts, crushed
  • Desiccated coconut for topping

Dry ingredients


  • 1 cup rice flour
  • ½ cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • ½ cup raw cacao
  • ¼ cup desiccated coconut
  • ¾ tsp baking powder

Wet ingredients


  • 2 tbsp raw palm sugar or raw honey (normal sugar works too but add to dry ingredients)
  • 1 chia egg (1 tbsp chia seeds + 3 tbsp water)
  • ½ - ¾ cup extra virgin coconut oil
  • 1-2 tsp vanilla extract

DSC_0045.JPG

INSTRUCTIONS


To make the chia egg, mix 1 tbsp of chia seeds with 3 tbsp of water and let sit for a few minutes. A sticky gel-like substance will form.

Pulse oats a few times in a blender to break them up a little. Combine with all other dry ingredients and mix well.

DSC_0047.JPG

DSC_0052.JPG

In another bowl, mix the wet ingredients until well combined.

DSC_0058.JPG

Add in the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Then carefully stir in the crushed cashew nuts.

DSC_0063.JPG

DSC_0065.JPG

Roll the dough into a sausage and wrap in baking paper or plastic foil. Let rest in the fridge for 20 minutes.

DSC_0086.JPG

DSC_0099.JPG

Preheat the oven to 425°F or 220°C. Line a baking sheet with baking paper or a silicone mat.

Cut cookies in discs or heart shapes and place them on the baking sheet. Bake for 10 to 20 minutes.

DSC_0105.JPG

DSC_0119.JPG

CHOCOLATE SAUCE for the writing


Mix equal parts of raw cacao powder and coconut oil.

DSC_0111.JPG

END RESULT


Add blueberry muffins to a plate, sprinkle with desiccated coconut (or chocolate sauce) and add a chocolate heart-shaped cookie on top. I served mine with a mint-infused green tea.

Writing is done with the chocolate sauce.

DSC_0129.JPG

DSC_0124.JPG

DSC_0139.JPG

After my hubby and I ate our muffin I realized I forgot to take a pic with my steemit name…. Luckily I made enough to make a second plate… no more chocolate writing on this one though… I wasn’t very good at it so it took me ages.

DSC_0151.JPG

WISHING YOU ALL A WONDERFUL DAY ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png

FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

ACAI BLUEBERRY CHIA SEED MORNING BLISS ღ ღ ღ

TROPICAL PASSION FRUIT POST-WORKOUT BOOSTER

CREAMY RED BEET SOUP WITH SPICED CHICKPEA CROUTONS (GLUTEN- AND DAIRY-FREE)

VEGAN SPICY MARINATED CAULIFLOWER SUNDAY ROAST WITH RAINBOW CHICKPEA SALAD

WHY YOU SHOULD GET INTO SOURSOP AND MORINGA SMOOTHIES TOO ღ ღ ღ

RAW VEGAN PANDAN CHEESECAKE


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoBZUcHz58m3pP6QX7KjeCNfAsekinuSbJ8Snb8X4RZ5GchCZ7iRBkBC.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now