Exploring Cape Cod and Providence

It is over a week since we returned from our trip, but I still have some photos to share. I did post at the time about a cycle ride along Cape Cod. That was a nice place that I could consider living. I am not so into boats, but having one there would give you lots of options. We did not get out to the islands of Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket due to lack of time. We stayed at a motel in Hyannis that was perfectly adequate and helped keep the costs down.

Our cycling took us to Chatham, which had some nice houses.

Chatham

We rode by the fish market where loads of seals bask on the beach.

Seals

They attract the great white sharks that a sign warned us about. I only paddled there. We went into town to get lunch. It was pretty busy there and we had to hunt around for somewhere to park our bikes. We found a small bike rack that was already full in a vast car park.

Back in Hyannis we wandered by the harbour. There was a band playing rock covers in the park. They also had some little huts where people were selling crafts.

Park

The place has plenty of restaurants. I do not remember the name of the one we ended up at. This huge pizza was enough for four of us. Of course I had some local beer and there were a couple of guys singing to entertain the diners. They were more into country. We did pick up some sweet treats on the way back.

Dinner

It amuses me that they have British themed bars.

British Beer Company

JFK

There was no time to visit the JFK Museum. The family had a place there. We would consider going back to this area.

Our next stop was Providence. We did not stop in New Bedford to see how it compares to the old version I grew up in. Rhode Island was another new state for me. My only reference for Providence is that it is mentioned in an Eagles song.

We stayed at our nicest hotel there. The Biltmore opened in 1922 and is quite grand. It is now known as The Graduate, but still has the old sign on the roof. The old glass elevator unfortunately no long functions. We had a suite which meant having a nice sitting area and two TVs. My other half got hooked on some of the cooking shows.

Biltmore

Providence is a fairly large town that is home to Brown University. As usual the state house was impressive. As with some other places there was a trail to follow to see the local historic attractions.

State house

There are some nice old houses and park areas.

Houses

We had dinner at The Cheesecake Factory. I had been before in Los Angeles, but this was a new experience for the others. The menu is huge and so are the portions. I had a really nice veggie burger. My other half thought a salad would be a light option, but it was vast. We wanted to save space for the desserts, but ended up taking half back to the hotel for another day. They expect that there.

Cheesecakes

We had another day out there, but that will wait for the next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now