Good health inspires creativity, innovation, & productivity

I read @activistpost concerning What Really Makes Us Sick? in the morning and I was surprised at the level of truth that was contained in that blog post. Lord knows he was telling the truth.
0001 - 2024-01-29T112539.594.png
Source
Last year I lived in a place that messed with my sleep schedule. It was noisy every day of the week, from morning till night. I knew why I couldn't sleep better but I couldn't change my environment because of the feeling of loss (the money I paid for the rent for that year). The sunk cost fallacy became a huge part of my life.

This year I moved to a better place, it cost me extra but believe me since I stepped into this place, I have slept better. All the anxiety and restlessness I experienced throughout last year came to an abrupt end.

Believe me, I tried a lot of things last year to help me sleep, drugs and alcohol became my friend. My body needed that sleep, I knew, it was reflected in how the things that used to bring me joy started feeling like a hurdle. Now, I sleep better in a way that I catch myself dozing off in the middle of the afternoon. This is something I wished I could even have a glimpse of last year. Did you know to sleep in the afternoon, I needed to down a few glasses of alcohol? Yes, it was that bad.

This year, I don't remember where my sleeping pills are. The remaining alcohol stares at me in the face. Even my eating disorder is gone, I do not feel desperately hungry after I had eaten a few minutes ago. Even the extra weight I gain around my abdomen is gone.

In a nutshell, after the external factors that affected me were taken out of the equation, I sleep better and my body thanks me for this because I saw a leap in how the things I used to love start feeling loved again.

So yes, @activistpost's research is correct even though it goes against what the medical professionals would say. I am currently healthy which means the person selling alcohol doesn't get to take my money neither does the pharmaceutical company.

Now I get to understand why it's often said that Health is Wealth. Initially, I used to think it means being healthy meant you could enjoy the things you worked hard for. Yes, it means this too, but in my case, you can see that I can save money.

When I first got this apartment, I loved it but I worried about how much it cost not because I did not have it in handy. But because that would be my last cash. Knowing how much I consumed last year due to my eating disorder, I was worried about not having enough money to feed.

Image is mine

Right now, I still have some of the stocks on my shelf I bought from last year. That means, since I am not craving much, my food lasts without me having to look for the money to replace it. At this point, if I had money in my account, it meant, it was saved because I was not touching it.

If an opportunity shows up to invest in my future I would definitely do it without thinking twice. After all the worry about what to eat if I invest is no longer there. My body is in good shape to consume less and be satisfied. Leading the ladder up to wealth building.

The money I had to spend on alcohol and drugs will be saved too, when I add all three expenses that no longer get expensed, you can see where I am going with this.

The idea that money brings happiness, freedom, and whatnot has been enlarged in my life this year. Imagine if I did not have the money to pay for this place, I would be stuck in the never-ending loop of dealing with anxiety, depression, and unhappiness for the whole of 2024.

It wouldn't have been long before you noticed my activities are dwindling and my writing energy takes a bad turn. I am sure that being able to cover it all up for the whole of 2023 doesn't mean I would have been able to do so in 2024. So it's with great joy and happiness that I stay grateful to my old self for learning how money works, what it should get me, and what it shouldn't.

If I had mindlessly blown everything up in liabilities instead of saving them all up, all the repercussions of trying to mute the obvious and sticking to bad situations that messed with my mental health would come sprawling down.

My situation could be likened to someone who is in a bad relationship but can't seem to do anything about it because they lack the funding to escape their version of hell. Their children grow in such an environment and they continue to bear with whoever is bringing food and other provisions to the table even though this person treats them less than humans.

I have always said and I will repeat it, that money is meant to bring us the finest things in life, yes, but it's better to listen to Morgan Housel and save money because the things we love will always change at some point in our lives. And when we want to take this U-turn, financial inefficiency shouldn't be a hindrance.

For anyone reading this, an environmentally friendly lifestyle is important. I might have shied away from living and embracing this last year, but this year, I am committed to making sure, my minimalist lifestyle doesn't take a beating just because of the environment that I find myself in.

It will become a regular practice and I am hoping I will achieve harmony with this. I felt ugly within when I want to dispose the waste that resulted from my excessive eating and drinking. I allowed myself to mess my environment up because of a mistake I made in the choice of my apartment. All in all, I will always remember the place of money in my life and I will go above and beyond to ensure that it matches the experience that brings me joy and doesn't mess with my health.

Reference

What Really Makes Us Sick?


More from iska

When it comes to money - self-sabotage is a thing

Procrastination - An investment in stress for your future

Financial desperation can ruin you

Marriage in the high society - a dangerous business

Faking it, to living it

Entitlement & the consequences of expecting rewards without contributing value

Creative Monopoly - Significance of discovering new secrets in business

Building Trust & Affinity fosters stronger connections with clients, customers, & partners

Investment portfolio takes one farther than they can ever know

Those who fall for Ponzi Schemes are driven by greed, desperation, & a lack of planning

The paradoxical nature of risks - The upside is directly proportional to the downside

Technology - prioritizing vision over quick profits led to the creation of iconic innovations

Have no sunk cost and you will be able to adapt to change

Fraud - Market Manipulation & Ponzi Schemes

When you plan - take possible Consequences, Obstacles & Twist of Fortune into account

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center