Exploring Jing Jai Market in Chiang Mai Thailand

Chiang Mai Thailand is, by far, my favorite place in Southeast Asia. The city has everything a traveling EXPAT could want: clean sheets, strong WIFI, and 'Instagramable' backgrounds. Not to mention the cost of living is super cheap.

Everyday Chiang Mai has street markets selling items ranging from roasted alligators to fake Messi jersey's. This post recaps my experience at one of the most famous markets: Jing Jai Market.

marketFriday11.jpeg

We originally went to the market to find some food, because it is always my top priority in markets like this. This a delicious chicken dish that cost $1 USD.

marketFriday10.jpeg

My girlfriend is obsessed with eating noodles, so she always opts for fried noodles. The grilled banana was a surprising addition to her plate. I honestly don't remember what the other two items were, but I'm sure they were delicious.

marketFriday12.jpeg

After we ate, we wanted to wash the meal down with a cup of natural fruit juice. I was happy to find a place that didn't add sugar, because it's pretty common in Southeast Asia.

marketFriday8.jpeg

There was even a live band playing "Country" Music cover songs.

marketFriday9.jpeg

Many local artist were selling their art. My favorite piece was of Einstein. Not sure who the cartoon girl is (comment below if you know what character that is).

marketFriday14.jpeg

This vendor was selling persevered jams and fruit. Not really my cup of tea but definitely 'Instagramable'.

marketFriday17.jpeg

The market provides a space for local graffiti artist to showcase their work. I think this is a great way to re-purpose old buildings while giving artist an amazing opportunity. I wonder how much they charge to rent the space?

Graffiti1.jpeg

marketFriday3.jpeg

marketFriday13.jpeg

marketFriday4.jpeg

We finally ended the day with an amazing banana and nutella Roti. Check out this video below.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now