The Hindu Deities inside Batu Caves

Hi, Photography Lovers! Here I am showing you another set of photos inside Batu Caves. I'm taking photos of different gods and goddesses inside Batu Caves this time.

DSC_0399.JPG

Sometimes, I get confused about the difference between Hinduism and Buddhism. Is anyone here practicing these religions? Will you please identify the names of the gods?


According to Wikipedia:

Hindu deities are the gods and goddesses in Hinduism. The terms and epithets for deities within the diverse traditions of Hinduism vary, and include Deva, Devi, Ishvara, Ishvari, Bhagavān and Bhagavati.[1][2][note 1]

Source: here


DSC_0400.JPG

Lord Murugan

Well, Malaysia and Singapore are the melting pots of different cultures, races, and religions. I've never been to India yet so I have to say I am not all familiar with all their deities.

DSC_0401.JPG

Some souvenirs you can buy.

DSC_0402.JPG

The Smiling Buddha

I remember we call this Smiling Buddha. I've seen this at home as a display inside the house and saw it also in some stores owned by Chinese businessmen. I am not sure if this could be a lucky charm, same with the Chinese lucky waving cat.

DSC_0428.JPG

Even though I wasn't sure about all the deities, it was interesting to take photos because every temple was so colorful.

DSC_0429.JPG

I could smell the incense and the typical Indian/Hindu smell every time I passed by an Indian town, like Little India in Singapore. Oh, I forgot, the flowers as well. I am not sure if they put perfumes in every flower.

DSC_0430.JPG

Going to India could have been an authentic experience.

DSC_0431.JPG

Now, I just remember when I watched the Bollywood movie, Slumdog Millionaire, some deities got featured on a question. Looks like it's this one deity here with two pairs of arms. And the other one with a green skin.

DSC_0432.JPG

DSC_0433.JPG

DSC_0434.JPG

DSC_0436.JPG

How I wish I was able to explore more of the Hinduism religion while traveling.

DSC_0438.JPG

Do you find Hinduism an interesting religion? What do you think?

DSC_0439.JPG

DSC_0440.JPG

DSC_0443.JPG

DSC_0444.JPG

Batu Caves is an interesting cave but also, be careful, as there are a lot of monkeys and of course, the smell of the bat sh!+es.

DSC_0447.JPG

DSC_0448.JPG

DSC_0449.JPG

DSC_0450.JPG

DSC_0451.JPG

DSC_0457.JPG

While doing my research, here is a blog that talks about the deities of Batu Caves and Hindu Temples.

I hope you enjoyed this article. :D

Related Articles:



Roxanne Tamayo - www.itravelrox.com

Welcome to iTravelRox! Roxanne Tamayo is a Cebuana who is a traveler. Now a mom of 2 kids and a wife. She is a travel blogger and a digital nomad. As a Virtual Assistant, she does a lot of things like content writing, WordPress web design, WP updates and maintenance, graphic design, and photo editing. She is into wedding photography, as well.

If you like iTravelRox's content, please don't forget to upvote and leave a comment. She will share a lot of stories about solo travels, motherhood, family travel, and working as a VA.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now