Market Friday - Shopping for Souvenirs at Beryl's Chocolate Kingdom and Jadi Batek Gallery in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Hi #MarketFriday community! It's me again. I got the chance to do a Market Friday blog when I found some photos of my trip to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia back in September 2013.

As a first-timer flying to a different country from the Philippines, I was just being a tourist I spent money to buy souvenirs.

Our tour guide brought us to Beryl's Chocolate Kingdom. For my love of chocolates, I bought a lot of chocolates. I also bought Malaysian coffee which is not in the photo.

I spent 207 MYR or Malaysian Ringgit buying souvenirs including Kuala Lumpur City Gallery and the Chinatown of Jalan Petaling. I'll create another shopping experience in these two mentioned.

Beryl's Chocolate Kingdom

DSC_0232.JPG

Welcome to Beryl's Chocolate Kingdom

DSC_0233.JPG

The coffee and chocolate smell so good here.

DSC_0234.JPG

Some teapots, sorry it's blurred.

DSC_0235.JPG

Tiramisu chocolates, sorry blurred.

DSC_0236.JPG

I apologized for not taking several photos inside the chocolate and coffee shop because it was full of tourists buying souvenirs. So, I just picked the things that I like and put them in my basket.

DSC_0238.JPG

Our tour guide was waiting for us as we headed to our next shop. We took a half-day tour for this trip so we couldn't spend a long time in one shop.

Jadi Batek Gallery

DSC_0241.JPG

I love this place but never got the chance to buy anything here since I spent money from the previous shop. What I love here is the arts and crafts.

DSC_0242.JPG

I loved to do hand painting t-shirts from the past. And I love watching people do some hand painting of their products.

DSC_0243.JPG

There was a sign you can see that you are not allowed to take photos of each product. So, I never got the chance to take close-up photos with respect to the artists.

DSC_0244.JPG

But I got the chance to take photos and videos of the artists doing the hand painting. After the pencil drawing, they outline the art with gold.

DSC_0247.JPG

Sorry for the blurred photo.

DSC_0248.JPG

Here's a clearer photo. The art is so beautiful.

DSC_0249.JPG

Big respect for this guy and the rest of the artists.

DSC_0252.JPG

Create your own Batik Masterpiece with pricing.

DSC_0254.JPG

Here's a little girl so proud of her masterpiece.

Honestly, I really wanted to do this and spend some time here. I want to experience the Batik Masterpiece in Malaysia. I know, I've done hand painting t-shirts in the past using Tulco paints so doing this won't be new to me. But I love to learn their method, as well.

DSC_0255.JPG

Here's proof of my souvenir shopping in Kuala Lumpur. The box is full of chocolates and coffee. Hehe!

Thank you for reading my #MarketFriday post, a community created by @dswigle. Check out this community.


Roxanne Tamayo - www.itravelrox.com

Welcome to iTravelRox! Roxanne Tamayo is a Cebuana who is a traveler. Now a mom of 2 kids and a wife. She is a travel blogger and a digital nomad. As a Virtual Assistant, she does a lot of things like content writing, WordPress web design, WP updates and maintenance, graphic design, and photo editing. She is into wedding photography, as well.

If you like iTravelRox's content, please don't forget to upvote and leave a comment. She will share a lot of stories about solo travels, motherhood, family travel, and working as a VA.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now