Eating Malaysian Cuisine During My First International Trip



cljvo0zgv02427lszdaoeepv6_DSC_0015.webp
cljvo0yt0023c78szhtx54zcr_DSC_0016.webp
cljvo17aj026ba9sz0gnl4d5e_DSC_0014.webp
cljvo12bp027865sz5cpf8qh1_kl01.webp
cljvo1dd0027c82sz7kl69ftj_kl02.webp
cljvo1muo026i5sszhai1g1tg_DSC_0225.webp
cljvo1rip026z5esz6nn2bnfo_DSC_0227.webp
cljvo1zoo02773isz7190hvyd_DSC_0228.webp
cljvo24pc02ay6iszeeef2fzj_DSC_0231.webp
cljvo252c027x20szbe4s8qpq_nasi_lemak.webp

It was my first international trip that I never thought about Malaysian cuisine. I never did my research so I had no idea what to expect. Spicy, sweet, salty? I was shocked that most of the Malaysian cuisine is spicy. Ayayay!

Chicken Roti

Malaysia is indeed a Cultural Melting Pot in Asia. When we arrived on our first night in Kuala Lumpur, we saw an Indian stall selling roti canai. We ordered chicken roti and it was too much for a serving for one person. We should have shared it together with my friend. We paired the chicken roti with Sprite.

I am not really a fan of Indian cuisine. It was good but still weird to my taste. Ah, yes, there were three sauces. I was only familiar with curry. I wasn't familiar with the other two.

Free Breakfast in our Hotel

For our breakfast, we took something that looks familiar to our taste. Of course, there was coffee, white bread with strawberry jam, scrambled eggs, and surprisingly, eating noodles for breakfast. The taste was not so bad, we enjoyed it.

Our good lunch

Luckily, the restaurant in our hotel also served lunch. I think we paid 15 MYR for our plate. I had to be careful with what I choose because some viands have spicy sauce. I wanted to eat the fish then I saw a lot of chilis in the sauce. Huhuhu! There was also pork and another chili sauce on it. I got some chicken with a little spiciness, tolerable. There was sauteed kangkong with garlic and soy sauce, and white rice. My friend had beans on his plate with the same chicken and white rice.

At the Bangladeshi Restaurant

We went to this restaurant as recommended by our tour guide but he never told us what to expect. When you see the omelet egg, Java rice mixed with vegetables, and the chicken, everything looked so appetizing that you can eat it right away straight to your mouth.

But lo and behold! If you're not a fan of spicy food, good luck to you!

I got excited to eat the omelet egg that some spicy stuck in my throat. Help me! I could not breathe! I coughed, I need water. I drank so much coca cola. It was spicy. OMG. My face turned red.

I lost my appetite. The chicken, I didn't eat. I was very sad. I cried. I spent 15 MYR while our tour guide spent 2 MYR for his lunch. Huhuhu!

So, what happened next? Most of the time, we ate McDonald's or KFC. T_T

Nasi Lemak

Our last dinner was at the airport before going back to the Philippines. Ah, the best of the best food I've eaten. The plate consists of anchovies, peanuts, a slice of boiled egg, lamb curry, cucumber, and traditional chili paste. Oh, heaven!

Related Articles:


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now