Market Friday - Shopping Souvenirs at Jalan Petaling Chinatown in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Hi #MarketFriday community! For today's blog, I'll bring you to the original Chinatown in Kuala Lumpur which is the Jalan Petaling or Petaling Street.

My friend and I were on another hunt for souvenirs. Oh wow! We had so much money. Hahaha!

Anyway, let's have a tour around Chinatown.

DSC_0462a.JPG

This is the Chinatown entrance of Jalan Petaling. My friend and I decided to take a tour around Chinatown first before buying something. Also, it gave us the chance to take pictures around.

DSC_0464.JPG

It was really tempting to buy here. If you're a bag lover, you can check this out. So many hand bags for ladies.

DSC_0466.JPG

This teddy bear reminds me of Mr. Bean's teddy bear. Haha! I just realized there were so many iPad cases on the left. Why I didn't purchase for my iPad mini? LOL

Of course, so many sunglasses on the right.

DSC_0467a.JPG

The Chinese lantern

DSC_0469.JPG

My eyes twinkled when I saw these Hello Kitty merchandises. I was such a Hello Kitty fan, I collected Hello Kitty products back in Cebu. Everything was pink, I wanted to buy it. But I was on a budget.

DSC_0470.JPG

We continued to walk around. We don't need something big. We were looking for something small items.

DSC_0471.JPG

Bags for the kids

DSC_0472.JPG

And there, we found something small. Keychains and other accessories. Alright, we checked the prices. We actually came back to this stall and bought something here.

DSC_0473.JPG

We never checked out some restaurants here. Good thing that we fed ourselves enough from our hostel before we arrived here. So many things to see and buy here.

I just took random photos and decided not to delete it.

I still find beauty on blurred photos. Hehe!

DSC_0478.JPG

I was tempted to buy shoes here but I am actually picky. It was difficult for me to buy shoes because of my wide feet. LOL

I really enjoyed visiting Chinatowns in different countries. So yeah, my first Chinatown in Malaysia.

DSC_0481.JPG

Somehow, we got lost interest in checking the other stalls since we already found what we like. But we just continued to walk around and find the exit.

DSC_0483a.JPG

Here's the exit but can also be an entry if you pass by here first.

DSC_0484.JPG

OMG, watching all these photos made me feel nostalgic for my first out-of-the-country trip from the Philippines.

DSC_0485.JPG

And I missed my time coming back here the second time around, where I actually stayed in a hostel near Chinatown.

DSC_0486.JPG

This area was my everyday scenario. I enjoyed living like a local here back in 2015. But that's for another story.

Ugh, I miss Kuala Lumpur. :D

DSC_0255.JPG

Here's proof of my souvenir shopping in Kuala Lumpur. You can see in the lower left area of the photo, the Malaysian keychains/nail cutter and the Petronas Twin Towers table display.

Thank you for reading my #MarketFriday post, a community created by @dswigle. Check out this community.

Related Articles:


Roxanne Tamayo - www.itravelrox.com

Welcome to iTravelRox! Roxanne Tamayo is a Cebuana who is a traveler. Now a mom of 2 kids and a wife. She is a travel blogger and a digital nomad. As a Virtual Assistant, she does a lot of things like content writing, WordPress web design, WP updates and maintenance, graphic design, and photo editing. She is into wedding photography, as well.

If you like iTravelRox's content, please don't forget to upvote and leave a comment. She will share a lot of stories about solo travels, motherhood, family travel, and working as a VA.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now