Japanese Songs Part 6

Copy of Add a heading.png


Introduction


This is my post for the #threetunetuesday playlist which is a contest hosted by ablaze. Today, I will feature 3 Japanese songs and include my interpretation of the meaning of the lyrics for each song. This is the sixth part to my series of TTT Japanese songs. I also provide the YouTube links one is the music video and the other is one with english subs so just choose what you prefer. I also share my spotify at the end. I hope you like the songs!

shawnnft__1_-removebg-preview.png

#1. 名前のない怪物 (Monster Without a Name) - EGOIST


The first song chosen is Monster Without a Name by Egoist. Egoist if I'm not wrong is a duo by a lyric writer and vocalist. They were formed to make the songs for Guilty Crown which is an anime but it seems like they did more songs after. This song Monster Without a Name is one of the theme songs for Psycho Pass SS which is also an anime!


The song is a bit difficult to interpret. This song could mean two different things from what I understood from the lyrics. The song could be about someone at the hospital trying to fight death (the monster without a name) and at the end they are willing to accept death. The other thing I could think the meaning could be is an alternate personality that is evil but strong. Usually when we think of a monster, we think they are scary and strong. They want to use this alternative personality or spirit to possess their body to fight for justice.

shawnnft__1_-removebg-preview.png

#2. 虚言NEUROSE- My First Story


The second song randomly chosen was 虚言NEUROSE by My First Story. My First Story is a Japanese rock band group. The one that does the vocals is Hiroko which is the brother of Taka from One Ok Rock! Honestly, I think this is my favorite song chosen this week. I think the lyrics are amazing and I love the rock feel matching the lyrics which give the song a long of power.


Anyways the song has an interesting meaning which is quite realistic. In real life, there are people that go through a depression period and they find that they are no longer themselves. This is in the lyrics "right now I am no longer I". They don't know what's their reason to live and they think everything is meaningless. We can see that in the lyrics "love and dreams are nothing and everything is meaningless". The meaning of this song articulates and expressed this situation really great. It's difficult to get out of these situations so if you are reading this and are depressed please get help.

shawnnft__1_-removebg-preview.png

#3. Best Friend - Kana Nishino


Finally, the last song chosen is Best Friend by Kana Nishino. She is a singer and songwriter from Japan. I think this song is super wholesome and nice to listen to. It has a nice uplifting beat in the background with amazing vocals with amazing range from Kana Nishino. I would consider this a happy song.


The lyrics are about a person's feeling of having a best friend. That best friend is always there for you and understands you and can read how you feel even though you may be trying to hide your true feelings of sadness or anger. The person really appreciates their best friend and "loves" them as a best friend. The person will return how that best friend treats them and will always be for them as well. This is pretty much what the song is about.

shawnnft__1_-removebg-preview.png

Thank You

If you made it to the end, thank you so much for reading. I hope you liked the songs and maybe found some new songs to add to your playlist! I will definitely prepare a part 7 in the future.

If you don't already, you should also start posting your TTT and sharing 3 songs every week! If you started posting TTT because of me, feel free to tag me so I can see and I will definitely comment and upvote your post! All the best and see you next week for my next TTT.


You can check out previous posts here if you enjoyed my Japanese music!
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5

Whole Spotify Playlist for those that are interested below.

shawnnft__1_-removebg-preview.png

Credits

Photo Banner thumbnail made using Canva

Also I do not own any of these songs and these are not my YouTube channels; it's just for fair use and sharing new music to everybody. All credit for these songs go to their singer🙏.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now