T is for Tonto's Expanding Head Band - Zero Time

I've been collecting records for as long as I can remember, and sometimes it's easy to skip over things, and forget what you've got. I'm going to start listening to things in alphabetical order, it give me a chance to look through my collection again, and give me an opportunity to share things with other music lovers, and vinyl collectors.

The rules are simple, I will start at A, and choose an artist from my collection beginning with that letter, next day I move on to B, then C, etc.

The story so far...

T is for...

Tonto's Expanding Head Band - Zero Time

We're getting close to end now, it's been a fun ride, who knows, I might even do a second round, after a little break maybe...

But before I even think about that we've got to get to the end. And let's move on with Zero Time, a wonderful album by Tonto's Expanding Head Band. TONTO stands for "The Original New Timbral Orchestra", and is a huge multi-timbral polyphonic synthesiser, built by Malcolm Cecil, and based on a Moog synth owned by Robert Margouleff. Together they formed the Expanding Head Band and went on to work with the likes of Stevie Wonder, helping to shape their ideas into reality.

As a duo they recorded a couple of albums, the first of which is Zero Time. It's a wonderful album, especially the first half, with some great synth work, setting the standard for people like Jean Michel Jarre to follow. Here's my copy of the album, released on Atlantic Records...

20211208_144345.jpeg

20211208_144354.jpeg

20211208_144406.jpeg

20211208_144439.jpeg

20211208_144429.jpeg

20211208_144449.jpeg

And here's the full album, sit back and enjoy...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now