P is for... Pink Floyd - A Saucerful of Secrets

I've been collecting records for as long as I can remember, and sometimes it's easy to skip over things, and forget what you've got. I'm going to start listening to things in alphabetical order, it give me a chance to look through my collection again, and give me an opportunity to share things with other music lovers, and vinyl collectors.

The rules are simple, I will start at A, and choose an artist from my collection beginning with that letter, next day I move on to B, then C, etc.

The story so far...

P is for...

Pink Floyd - A Saucerful of Secrets

I'm looking back at my previous posts and I hope you'll agree it's a great list so far, lots of psychedelia, ambient, atmospheric and experimental sounds to get your groove on. We're going to raise the bar a little here, ladies and gentlemen I give you...A Saucerful of Secrets!

Released way back in 1968, A Saucerful of Secrets is the second album by Pink Floyd, and features Syd Barrett, and also marks the Pink Floyd debut of David Gilmour, brought in alongside Syd Barrett, who wasn't in the best shape.

Following on from Piper at the Gates of Dawn, this followup features such classics as Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun, Remember a Day, and not forgetting the epic title track.

My copy is pretty old, yet still sounds great, it's a little noisy but it all adds to the character. I think it's an early 1970's pressing, so maybe 50 years old. Here's a few pics of my copy...

20211203_114231.jpeg

20211203_114240.jpeg

20211203_114304.jpeg

20211203_114316.jpeg

20211203_114400.jpeg

And a few tracks from the album to whet your appetite...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now