I is for... Incredible String Band - Wee Tam

I've been collecting records for as long as I can remember, and sometimes it's easy to skip over things, and forget what you've got. I'm going to start listening to things in alphabetical order, it give me a chance to look through my collection again, and give me an opportunity to share things with other music lovers, and vinyl collectors.

The rules are simple, I will start at A, and choose an artist from my collection beginning with that letter, next day I move on to B, then C, etc.

The story so far...

I is for...

Incredible String Band - Wee Tam (1968)

Part of this process is to give me the opportunity to have a good root through my collection and find something interesting, that might not be my go to choice. For me, Iron Maiden would probably be an easy option for this post, but we're not going to go there (maybe I'll feature some Maiden if I do a second round, you know you want me too!)

So today we're going to feature some wonderful Scottish psychedelic folk music from the Incredible String Band. Wee Tam and the Big Huge is a double album released by the ISB in 1968 and is a wonderful eclectic album by Robin Williamson and Mike Heron. It was their fourth album, and a double album too. A few years later it was re-released as two separate albums, and that's what we have here, the first part of these releases - Wee Tam. It's definitely eclectic, and although folk in it's approach it feels a little like some of the tracks at the time by the Kinks, and maybe some of the Syd Barrett quirky songwriting from the first Pink Floyd albums...

20211112_104256.jpg

20211112_104132.jpg

20211112_104121.jpg

20211112_104225.jpg

20211112_104237.jpg

So here are a couple of tracks from Wee Tam taking you back to 1968...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now