R is for... Steve Reich - Different Trains

I've been collecting records for as long as I can remember, and sometimes it's easy to skip over things, and forget what you've got. I'm going to start listening to things in alphabetical order, it give me a chance to look through my collection again, and give me an opportunity to share things with other music lovers, and vinyl collectors.

The rules are simple, I will start at A, and choose an artist from my collection beginning with that letter, next day I move on to B, then C, etc.

The story so far...

R is for...

Steve Reich - Different Trains

This one's very special, Steve Reich is one of my biggest musical heroes, and has been an inspiration since I first discovered his work around 30 years ago. As a music student I was inspired by his musical style and technique, as well as his approach to performance and technology.

Different Trains is a story about railway travel, from the perspective of Jews during the Second World War, and features audio recordings from survivors of the holocaust, alongside multilayered string quartet performances (by the wonderful Kronos Quartet) and train and siren sounds, it's a fascinating and moving experience.

The flipside of the record is a piece called Electric Counterpoint, and again features a multilayered performance, this time featuring guitar performed by Pat Metheny. Keen eared listeners may recognise elements of this, as it was later sampled by The Orb on their classic track Little Fluffy Clouds.

Alas, my copy is a reissue, the original being outside of my financial limits, but it's enjoyable nonetheless and a proud part of my collection...

20211207_113920.jpeg

20211207_113929.jpeg

20211207_114046.jpeg

20211207_114057.jpeg

20211207_114108.jpeg

And here's Different Trains, make yourself a drink, sit down in a dark room with your headphones on and listen...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now