An Unexpected Brew for the Inexperienced

Today I passed the local grocery store and quickly grabbed two beers I didn't try before. I was in a bit of a rush so I didn't really pay too much attention. Once home I noticed one of the beers I grabbed was a Grand Cru by brewery St Feuillien. Before drinking this beer I though I had Grand Cru's before. The more sour Flandrien style ones. Well... I was wrong. The St Feuillien was hinting more towards a triple. After some googling I realize Grand Cru isn't an official beer style and basically any brewer can call their beer "Grand Cru". It's typically referring to a more premium beer (more info here). Learned something I guess...

Despite the different expectation the beer didn't disappoint. At the end of the day, this is some sort of premium brew am I right :) The beer actually was nice. Like a triple but a little less hoppy. Here's a close-up of the label. While the story of St Feuillien goes way back and is the name of a Monk in the year 655 the brewery has been around for over 150 years, last year in 2023, to be precise!

As per usual I enjoyed the beer in a non-matching beer glass. My trusty Cornelius-Bräu from Aachen. I should really look into finally visiting that place sometime. Maybe 2024 is a good year for that.

Pouring the Grand Cru in my Cornelius-Bräu Glass

Non-matching, but I think they fit together.

It's a good Belgian beer that I can really recommend. Not any sourness in this one as I was expecting, but still great! Inexperienced I guess... Worth to to join the #BeerSaturday nevertheless!

Cheers and thanks for dropping by!


If you like what I do, consider voting for my witness here:

Vote for My Witness


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency