Architecture+Design Community Contest: World Architecture Day/ Famagusta area or Cyprus

I can't believe that nine days have gone by since I wrote my last post. It's a good thing I spotted this contest OCD Community Boost Contest S2 #1: Highlighting Architecture & Design

photo_2021_10_13_07.48.27.jpeg
Built using stones from the area to perfectly fit the landscape

Came up at a perfect time for me. I am so fascinated with this new area where I am visiting with my son and daughter

There is so much to see here and the coastline is filled with spectacular sights. If you are lucky enough to do a boat trip along the coast, the church of the Prophet Elias Profitis Ilias can be clearly seen and will always be pointed out by the captain of the cruise boat.

untitled_1.jpg
This is at the foot of the Profitis Elias church

This mountain is lit up at night and looks like something out of a fairy story book.

It's quite a climb to the top - some 156 steps. I managed quite nicely but took a few stops to breathe in the lovely fresh air on the way up.

whatsapp_image_2021_10_12_at_22.59.54.jpeg
Early morning view of the base of the mountain

Staying true to Greek Orthodox churches, its interior is decorated with icons and paintings from the Bible and it’s exterior is of Byzantine style. Profitis Ilias was built in 1984, in the place of an older chapel, and honoured its region by using stones of the area, thus being in perfect harmony with its natural surroundings.

This is the most known church of Protaras and is used for many weddings and christenings.
Source: MyCyprusTravel.com

The church is made of stone and is of Byzantine architecture.

It was not as difficult as I had imagined and on the way up there is a lovely view of the surrounding town and houses.

photo_2021_10_13_07.47.33.jpeg
From here it looks like its a long way up
photo_2021_10_13_07.47.45.jpeg
Pretty houses are at the base of the mountain

whatsapp_image_2021_10_12_at_22.59.53_1_.jpeg
View of the sea and houses - almost at the top

photo_2021_10_13_07.48.08.jpeg
Beautiful from all angles

whatsapp_image_2021_10_12_at_22.59.53_4_.jpeg
At the pinnacle - finally

whatsapp_image_2021_10_12_at_22.59.53.jpeg
Stunning view - which I believe I should see in the evening some time

On the way downthe many steps
photo_2021_10_13_08.13.24.jpegphoto_2021_10_13_08.13.32.jpeg

My kids were very attentive to my needs as my son carefully monitored my steps and my daughter constantly supplied me with water to drink on the way up and on the way down.

For me, the emotions of enjoying this beautiful hike up the mountain and experiencing it with my son Jack, and his lovely wife Lesley will be a lasting memory.

As a family we have vastly reduced giving physical gifts to one another and prefer to share memories like these. As a
wedding gift to them my daughter gave them air tickets to Israel.

Hundreds of visitors to the Island visit this church which can be seen from far and wide - especially in the summer months.
On the 20th July every year there is a special celebration there which attracts thousands of tourists and believers.

The story is told that the prophet was a sailor and as soon as he got tired of sailing he found a remote place in the mountains and lived there for the rest of his life.

You can find details of the contest here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency