Jan Hus Trail - Kohlberg - Högen (GER) / Day 10

Welcome to the tenth day of my travels in the footsteps of Jan Hus from Prague to Constance. Today we will look deeper into Bavaria, where we will visit several picturesque towns and villages.

Vítejte u desátého dne z mých cest po stopách Jana Husa z Prahy do Kostnice. Dnes se podíváme hlouběji do Bavorska, kde navštívíme několik malebných městeček a vesnic.

20240522_074025.jpg

20240522_075220.jpg

20240522_082403.jpg

20240522_083334.jpg

20240522_084654.jpg

It started raining heavily the previous day and it rained all night. So I didn't rush to get up and when the raindrops reduced their intensity. I decided to hit the road. But it didn't stop raining completely, so the journey through the meadows and forests was quite difficult, because the surface was quite slippery. But I had a morning plan to go to the town of Hirschau, where I wanted to buy and eat breakfast.

Předchozí den začalo silně pršet a pršelo celou noc. Tak jsem se do vstávání moc nehrnul a teprve když dešťové kapky omezili svojí intenzitu. Rozhodl jsem se vyrazit na cestu. Jenže nepřestalo pršet úplně a tak cesta přes louky a lesy byla dosti náročná, protože povrch slušně klouzal. Ale měl jsem ranní plán dojít do městečka Hirschau, kde jsem se chtěl teprve nasnídat.

20240522_094014.jpg

_M4A2643.jpg

When I arrived in town. I passed by a brewery and somehow realized that I hadn't had any local beer in the few days I'd been in Bavaria. And so I decided to make up for this deficiency. So I bought locally produced beer at the local grocery store. I was pretty thirsty, so the beer disappeared pretty quickly. I returned the empty bottle to the bottle machine, because the man at the register was worried. I wouldn't take the bottle away somewhere.

Když jsem dorazil do města. Prošel jsem kolem pivovaru a nějak jsem si uvědomil, že jsem za těch pár dní co jsem byl v Bavorsku neměl žádné místní pivo. A tak jsem se rozhodl tento nedostatek dohnat. V místním obchodě s potravinami jsem tedy koupil pivo lokální výroby. Měl jsem slušnou žízeň a tak ve mě pivo zmizelo pěkně rychle. Prázdnou lahev jsem vrátil do automatu, protože pán na kase měl starost, abych lahev neodnesl někam pryč.

_M4A2646.jpg

_M4A2648.jpg

_M4A2653.jpg

And then I set out to explore the town. I visited the local town hall where I refilled my supply of drinking water and used the toilets. I exchanged a few words with a local drunk who staggered out of the bar across the street. At least I didn't feel so bad about drinking beer in the morning.

A pak jsem se vydal na průzkum města. Navštívil jsem místní radnici kde jsem doplnil zásobu pitné vody a využil toalety. Prohodil pár slov s místním opilcem, který se vypotácel z baru naproti. Alespoň jsem si nepřipadal tak špatně, že jsem pil pivo v dopoledních hodinách.

_M4A2658.jpg

_M4A2668.jpg

_M4A2671.jpg

Through the mostly agricultural landscape, I approached another small town, which was named Hanhbach. I was quite surprised when the path took me to the local football field and I had to walk past a perfectly mowed lawn.

Přes převážně zemědělskou krajinu jsem se přiblížil k dalšímu malému městečku, které se jmenovalo Hanhbach. Byl jsem dost překvapen, když mě stezka zavedla na místní fotbalové hřiště a já musel projít kolem perfektně posekaného trávníku.

_M4A2674.jpg

At the entrance of the town was a statue of a man carrying a bicycle over his shoulder. This statue reminded the problem the town had until the 1950s. When the road through the town was so bad. That even cyclists had to carry their bikes on their backs.

Na začátku městečka byla socha muže nesoucí kolo přes rameno. Tato socha připomínala problém, který město mělo do 50. let 20. století kdy přes město byla tak špatná silnice, že i cyklisté museli nosit kola na zádech.

_M4A2677.jpg

_M4A2680.jpg

20240522_140113.jpg

20240522_140259.jpg

One of the main tourist attractions of the Hanhbach is a boat ride on the river Vils.

Jednou z hlavních turistických atrakcí Hanhbachu je projížďka na lodích po říčce Vils.

_M4A2685.jpg

After that, I approached the Sulzbach-Rosenberg neighborhood through a large forest and a beautiful historic avenue.

Poté jsem se přes rozsáhlý les a nádhernou historickou alej přiblížil k souměstí Sulzbach-Rosenberg.

_M4A2691.jpg

_M4A2692.jpg

_M4A2693.jpg

_M4A2696.jpg

_M4A2698.jpg

Whenever I was in Germany, I preferred smaller towns because the history was preserved the most. Most major cities were razed to the ground during World War II. This small towns like Sulzach-Rosenberg was spared from this destruction.

Kdykoliv jsem byl v Německu tak jsem preferoval menší městečka, protože zde byla nejvíce zachována historie. Většina velkých měst byla za druhé světové války srovnána se zemí. A právě tato malá městečka jakým Sulzach-Rosenberg je. Byla této destrukce ušetřena.

_M4A2699.jpg

_M4A2701.jpg

_M4A2704.jpg

_M4A2705.jpg

_M4A2703.jpg

I spent about two hours in the city, because I kept finding interesting places everywhere. Like the castle, from which was a view of the valley of the Rosebach stream.

Ve městě jsem strávil asi dvě hodiny, protože jsem neustále nalézal zajímavá místa.Třeba jako zámek, ze kterého byl výhled od údolí potoka Rosebach.

_M4A2711.jpg

_M4A2715.jpg

_M4A2717.jpg
The sunset was slowly approaching and so I had to set off again. First I had to pass through a vast forest to find that the landscape began to change rapidly. The hills became steeper and occasionally a rock appeared. Until I was in deep limestone valleys, where the path led along a narrow path behind houses under pointed rocks.

Pomalu s blížil západ slunce a tak jsem se musel vydat opět na cestu. Nejprve jsem musel projít rozsáhlým lesem, abych zjistil, že se krajina začala rapidně měnit. Kopce začali být prudší a občas se objevila nějaká skalka. Až jsem nakonec byl v hlubokých vápencových údolích, kde cesta vedla uzoučkou cestou za domy pod špičatými skalami.

_M4A2718.jpg

At the end of the village of Högen I saw a water mill. Pity the sun was already above the horizon and so it was necessary to find a place to spend the night. Finally I found a flat patch under a big beech tree. But it took quite a bit of work to find such a place, because the valleys here are already quite deep.

Na konci vesničky Högen jsem uviděl vodní mlýn, škoda že slunce bylo již nad horizontem a tak bylo třeba najít místo na přenocování. Nakonec jsem si našel rovný plácek pod velkým bukem. Dalo to ale docela práci takové místo najít, protože údolí zde jsou již dost hluboká.

Husova_cesta_10.jpg

Route from Kohlberg to Högen

Kilometers walkedMeters UpMeters Down
365.7 Km6594 meters6361 meters

Jan Hus Trail - Prague (CZ) / Day 1 - part 1
Jan Hus Trail - Prague (CZ) / Day 1 - part 2
Jan Hus Trail - Prague to Beroun (CZ) / Day 2
Jan Hus Trail - Beroun to Skryjská jezírka (CZ) / Day 3
Jan Hus Trail - Skryjská jezírka to Kralovice (CZ) / Day 4
Jan Hus Trail - Kralovice to Rabštejn nad Střelou (CZ) / Day 5
Jan Hus Trail - Rabštejn nad Střelou to Konstantinovy Lázně (CZ) / Day 6
Jan Hus Trail - Konstantinovy Lázně to Tachov (CZ) / Day 7
Jan Hus Trail - Tachov (CZ) - Plößberg (GER) / Day 8
Jan Hus Trail - Plößberg - Kohlberg (GER) / Day 9

NFTShowroom.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center