Jan Hus Trail - Prague to Beroun (CZ) / Day 2

Welcome to the third installment, actually the second day of my journey in the footsteps of Jan Hus from Prague to Constance. In today's installment, I will show you how I got from Prague to the Central Bohemian city of Beroun. On the way we will visit several interesting historical places and the nature of the Czech Karst.

Vítejte u třetího pokračování, skutečně druhého dne mé cesty ve stopách Jana Husa z Prahy do Kostnice. V dnešním pokračování Vám ukážu jak jsem se dostal z Prahy do Středočeského města Beroun. Cestou navštívíme několik zajímavých historických míst a přírodu Českého krasu.

_M4A1939.jpg

_M4A1940.jpg

In fact, I started this stage less than 14 days after stage one, so the spring was at a much more advanced stage. I started my journey in Prague Zbraslav, where I ended my journey last time. The road from Zbraslav to Radotín is not at all beautiful, as it leads past a golf course and a wholesale market. When entering Radotín, the river Berounka must be crossed over a new footbridge.

Ve skutečnosti jsem se do této etapy pustil necelých 14 dní po etapě první, takže jaro bylo v daleko pokročilejším stádiu. Putování jsem zahájil v Pražské Zbraslavi, kde jsem minule cestu zakončil. Cesta ze Zbraslavi do Radotína není nijak překrásná, protože vede kolem golfového hřiště a velkoobchodní tržnice. Při vstupu do Radotína se musí překonat řeka Berounka po nové lávce.

_M4A1945.jpg

I did not document the journey further beyond Radotín in any significant way, because I have already taken this path several times. For example, in the case when I headed from Prague along the European route E10 to Šumava mountain range. What caught my eye this time in one of the valleys was an unusual Volvo car.

Cestu dále za Radotínem jsem nijak závažněji nedokumentoval, protože jsem touto cestou šel již několikrát. Třeba v případě kdy jsem zamířil z Prahy po Evropské trase E10 na Šumavu. Co mě tentokráte cestou zaujalo v jednom z údolí bylo netradiční auto značky Volvo.

_M4A1947.jpg

_M4A1949.jpg

_M4A1952.jpg

After entering deeper into the Český karst, views of the countryside finally begin to open up, as in the area around the village of Mořinka. The last time I was here, there were several abandoned houses. During the current visit, the houses were repaired and occupied.

Po vstupu hlouběji do Českého krasu se konečně začnou otevírat výhledy do krajiny jako v okolí vesnice Mořinka. Když jsem zde byl naposledy, bylo zde několik opuštěných domů. Při současné návštěvě byly domy opraveny a obývány.

_M4A1955.jpg

_M4A1957.jpg

_M4A1958.jpg

From Mořinka, I went through several meadows and a forest to the township of Karlštejn, which is famous for its Gothic castle on the hill above the town.

Od Mořinky jsem se přes několik luk a jeden les dostal do městyse Karlštejn, které je proslulé díky gotickému hradu na kopci nad městem.

_M4A1959.jpg

_M4A1960.jpg

_M4A1965.jpg

_M4A1967.jpg

_M4A1969.jpg

_M4A1973.jpg

The castle was founded by King Charles IV, later Roman Emperor, as a place to protect the crown jewels of the Holy Roman Empire and various holy relics. Today, the place is visited by more than 200,000 people a year.

Hrad nechal založit král Karel IV, později císař římský, jako místo pro ochranu korunovačních klenot Svaté říše římské a různých svatých relikvií. Dnes místo navštěvuje více jak 200000 lidí ročně.

_M4A1976.jpg

_M4A1983.jpg

_M4A1984.jpg

_M4A1985.jpg

I did not stay here for long and continued on to the next interesting point of this stage. But first I had to pass by the Bubovické vodopády (Bubovice waterfalls), which were traditionally without water. To get to a place called Svatý Jan pod Skalou. Where the monastery of the Benedictine order is located in a deep valley. Here I replenished the supply of water in the local spring. And I continued further in the direction of Beroun.

Dlouho jsem se zde nezdržel a pokračoval dále k dalšímu zajímavému bodu této etapy. Ale nejprve jsem musel projít kolem Bubovických vodopádů, které byly tradičně bez vody. Abych se dostal do místa zvaného Svatý Jan pod Skalou. Kde se nachází v hlubokém údolí klášter řádu Benediktínů. Tady jsem doplnil zásobu vody v místním prameni. A pokračoval jsem dále ve směru na Beroun.

_M4A1988.jpg

_M4A1989.jpg

Every time I have a chance to get to Beroun, the first place I visit is located near the train station. And a relatively often visited place where I go is the family brewery Berounský medvěd. This brewery brews beers from 8 to 25 degrees. I usually stick to the traditional 11 or 12 degrees. Which is the Zlatý kůň (Golden Horse), or František (Francis). The advantage is that it is possible to buy beer 24 hours a day at the brewery's gatehouse. Berounský medvěd

Pokaždé když mám možnost se dostat do Berouna, první místo, které navštívím se nachází nedaleko nádraží. A poměrně často navštěvovaným místem kam se vydávám je rodinný pivovar Berounský medvěd. Tento pivovar vaří piva od 8 do 25 stupňů. Já se většinou držím tradičních hodno 11, nebo 12 stupňů. Což je Zlatý kůň, nebo František. Výhoda je, že je možné koupit pivo 24 hodin denně na vrátnici pivovaru. Berounský medvěd

_M4A1991.jpg

_M4A1992.jpg

_M4A1993.jpg

I had almost 35 kilometers to walk to the brewery, so I ran very quickly through the town of Beroun to find a place to sleep before dark. I found such a place near the Děd lookout tower, about 3 kilometers outside the city.

U pivovaru jsem měl v nohách bezmála 35 kilometrů a tak jsem městem Berounem proběhl velmi rychle, abych našel místo na spaní ještě před setměním. Takové místo jsem našel nedaleko rozhledny Děd, asi 3 kilometry za městem.

Husova_cesta_2.jpg

Full map link to Mapy.cz

Kilometers walkedMeters UpMeters Down
56.3 Km1348 meters1100 meters

Jan Hus Trail - Prague (CZ) / Day 1 - part 1
Jan Hus Trail - Prague (CZ) / Day 1 - part 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center