It could be Eden but it's called Ilha Grande (Big Island) - Brazil Series #17 [ENG-ESP]

My backpacking trip in Brazil was entering its final stretch, I had already 32 days in the country when I went to meet the exuberant place I will tell you about next: Ilha Grande (Big Island). I left Búzios early in the morning, took a bus to Angra dos Reis and about 300 km later I arrived at this city in the state of Rio de Janeiro, which is part of the Costa Verde (Green Coast).

Mi viaje mochilero por Brasil estaba entrando en su recta final, ya tenía 32 días en el país cuando fui a conocer el exuberante lugar del que les hablaré a continuación: Ilha Grande (Isla Grande). Me fui de Búzios temprano en la mañana, tomé un autobús con destino a Angra dos Reis y unos 300 Km después llegué a esta ciudad del estado de Rio de Janeiro que forma parte de la Costa Verde.

063.JPG

The bus left me close to my goal, the port, I had read in my Brazil guidebook that the boats to Ilha Grande left from there. I had no idea of the schedules and when I got to the ticket office they told me that the last boat left at 4:00 pm, I was very lucky because it was already 3:00 pm but fortunately there were still tickets available.

El autobús me dejó cerca de mi objetivo, el puerto, había leído en mi guía de Brasil que desde allí salían las embarcaciones para Isla Grande. No tenía idea de los horarios y cuando llegué a las taquillas me dijeron que el último barco salía a las 4:00 pm, tuve mucha suerte porque ya eran las 3:00 pm pero afortunadamente aún había boletos disponibles.

066.JPG

Waiting to board / Esperando para embarcar


The departure was not very punctual, the boat was small and if I remember correctly there were about twenty of us. The trip was a bit slow, I don't know exactly how long it took, I think a little over an hour, but when we arrived at the island it was already dark and I didn't even remember to take pictures. The landing is at the pier of the main town of the island, Vila do Abraâo, and everything is close by, I quickly found a nice inn where I stayed for the three days I was there.

La salida no fue muy puntual, el barco era pequeño y si mal no recuerdo éramos unas veinte personas. El viaje fue algo lento, no sé exactamente cuánto duró, creo que poco más de una hora, pero cuando llegamos a la isla ya había anochecido y ni me acordé de tomar fotos. El desembarco es en el muelle de la población principal de la isla, Vila do Abraâo, y allí cerca está todo, rápidamente conseguí una linda posada donde me quedé los tres días que estuve allí.

108.JPG

That first night I went to dinner at a small restaurant I found nearby and slept early because the next day I wanted to leave for an excursion before 8:00 in the morning. When I left the inn I could see how this part of the island looked during the day, I thought it was a gorgeous scenery.

Esa primera noche fui a cenar a un pequeño restaurante que encontré cerca y dormí temprano porque al día siguiente quería irme de excursión antes de las 8:00 de la mañana. Cuando salí de la posada pude apreciar cómo se veía esta parte de la isla de día, me pareció un escenario precioso.

069.JPG

In the 192 km² that Ilha Grande has, there are hundreds of beaches and many trails, its jungle geography makes you feel in a tropical paradise. I chose on my first day to go to Lopes Mendes beach, which is just over 6 km from the village, just get to the entrance of the trail and start walking, there is no chance of getting lost because the path is well marked.

En los 192 km² que tiene Isla Grande hay cientos de playas y muchos senderos, su geografía selvática te hace sentir en un paraíso tropical. Yo escogí en mi primer día ir a conocer la playa Lopes Mendes, que está a poco más de 6 Km del pueblo, simplemente llegas a la entrada del sendero y empiezas a caminar, no hay posibilidad de perderse porque el camino está bien marcado.

071.JPG

I didn't run into many people on the trail, but I did come across several huge rocks that in some cases I used to place my camera and take fun pictures with the automatic shutter 😂.

No me topé con mucha gente por el sendero, pero si con varias piedras enormes que en algunos casos me sirvieron para colocar mi cámara y tomarme divertidas fotos con el disparador automático 😂.

072.JPG

The route to Lopes Mendes beach is beautiful, you pass by several beaches and as most of the time you walk through dense vegetation, the heat doesn't leave you exhausted.

La ruta hacia la playa Lopes Mendes es bellísima, pasas por varias playas y como la mayor parte del tiempo caminas entre la densa vegetación, el calor no te deja agotada.

076.JPG

077.JPG

A little before arriving there is a ranger station with information about the place, then you go through a tunnel formed by the vegetation and finally the beach appears in its entirety.

Un poco antes de llegar hay un puesto de guardaparques con información sobre el lugar, luego atraviesas como un túnel formado por la vegetación y finalmente la playa aparece en toda su extensión.

079a.jpg

086.JPG

In total it took me about 1 hour and 45 minutes to get there, there were not many people, something I like because you enjoy the place more. Few bathed, the waters are a bit wild here but if you walk to the ends of the beach there are calmer spots where you can cool off, that's what I did.

En total tardé como 1 hora y 45 minutos en llegar, no había mucha gente, algo que me agrada porque disfrutas más del lugar. Pocos se bañaban, las aguas son algo salvajes aquí pero si caminas a los extremos de la playa hay puntos más calmados donde te puedes refrescar, eso hice yo.

083.JPG

087.JPG

I went all along the shore from one end to the other, it's about 3 km, the sun was strong but I got wet from time to time to cool off and continue. I loved doing this hike despite the heat because I was able to get a broader view of this amazing and remote place. By the way, there are no services here, you must bring your own hydration and food.

Me fui por toda la orilla de un extremo a otro, son unos 3 Km, el sol estaba fuerte pero me mojaba de vez en cuando para refrescarme y seguir. Me encantó hacer esta caminata a pesar del calor porque pude tener una visión más amplia de este increíble y remoto lugar. Por cierto, aquí no hay ningún tipo de servicio, debes llevar tu hidratación y comida.

088.JPG

090.JPG

092.JPG

093.JPG

I was at Lopes Mendes beach until about 3:00 in the afternoon, I was going to return by the same path, but I saw some boats and people going towards them, and when I asked they told me they were going to the village, so I decided to return by boat and see other landscapes of the island, this time from the sea.

Estuve como hasta las 3:00 de la tarde en la playa Lopes Mendes, iba a regresar por el mismo sendero, pero vi unas embarcaciones y personas yendo hacia ellas, y al preguntar me dijeron que iban al pueblo, entonces opté también por regresar en barco y así ver otros paisajes de la isla, esta vez desde el mar.

102.JPG

104.JPG

I went back to the inn to take a bath and then stopped by a travel agency I had seen in the morning, it offered boat tours around the island. I signed up for one of them for the next day and went for a walk through the streets of the town until it got dark, it is a very safe place. Vila do Abraâo is the only urban area of the island, it has about 3 thousand inhabitants and something to highlight is that no vehicles circulate here, only the most necessary ones, such as the police, the garbage truck or the firemen, besides most of the streets are not paved.

Volví a la posada a darme un baño y luego pasé por una agencia de viajes que había visto en la mañana, ofrecía circuitos en barco rodeando la isla. Me anoté en uno de los paseos para el día siguiente y me fui a caminar por las calles del pueblo hasta que anocheció, es un sitio muy seguro. Vila do Abraâo es la única área urbana de la isla, tiene unos 3 mil habitantes y algo a destacar es que aquí no circulan vehículos, solamente los más necesarios, como los de la policía, el aseo o los bomberos, además la mayoría de las calles no están pavimentadas.

107.JPG

The next morning we left early on the agency's boat, we were a group of about 15 people, mostly Brazilians. I was very excited to see other beaches of this exotic island.

La mañana siguiente salimos temprano en el barco de la agencia, éramos un grupo de unas 15 personas, la mayoría brasileños. Estaba muy emocionada por conocer otras playas de esta exótica isla.

114.JPG

This tour was about going halfway around Ilha Grande, stopping at most of the beaches for a while to take a dip and explore a bit of each place.

Este paseo se trataba de darle media vuelta a Isla Grande, detenernos en la mayoría de las playas por un rato para darnos el respectivo chapuzón y explorar un poco cada lugar.

118.JPG

121.JPG

The beaches we visited in this part of the island are very different from those of the village or Lopes Mendes, its waters are very calm, clear blue and you can see marine life easily.

Las playas que visitamos en esta parte de la isla son muy diferentes a las del pueblo o la Lopes Mendes, sus aguas son muy calmadas, de azules claros y puedes ver la vida marina con facilidad.

122.JPG

I don't remember the name of each one of them, but I do remember the name of some of them: Aripeba, Lagoa Azul, Lagoa Verde, Praia do Amor, Saco do Céu, Feiticeira.

No recuerdo el nombre de cada una de ellas, pero sí de algunas: Aripeba, Lagoa Azul, Lagoa Verde, Praia do Amor, Saco do Céu, Feiticeira.

128.JPG

Seeing all this natural beauty almost in a primitive state, without much human intervention, I started to read later how it had stayed that way, without so much development to ruin it, and it turns out that its disreputable past protected it.

Al ver toda esta belleza natural casi en estado primitivo, sin mucha intervención del ser humano, me puse a leer luego cómo se había mantenido así, sin tanto desarrollo que la arruinara, y resulta que su pasado de mala fama la protegió.

130.JPG

Although Ilha Grande was inhabited before the Portuguese colonization by the Tupinambás and Tamoios Indians, with the arrival of the Europeans this place, being remote but at the same time close to Rio de Janeiro, became a den of French, Dutch and English pirates, and for slave traders.

Si bien Isla Grande estuvo habitada antes de la colonización portuguesa por los indios Tupinambás y Tamoios, con la llegada de los europeos este lugar por ser remoto pero a la vez estar cerca de Rio de Janeiro, se convirtió en guarida de los piratas franceses, holandeses e ingleses, y de los traficantes de esclavos.

131.JPG

Then in the 19th century a place was built there that was an inn for people arriving sick from abroad to spend a quarantine, then it was a leper colony and finally a prison. There were two prisons on the island during the 20th century, one was operational until 1954 and the other until 1994. So this unpleasant past kept the place away from tourism and some of the evils it brings, such as contamination, deforestation, etc.

Luego en el siglo XIX se construyó allí un lugar que fue posada para que las personas que llegaban enfermas del extranjero pasaran una cuarentena, luego fue una leprosería y por último una cárcel. Hubo dos presidios en la isla durante el siglo XX, uno estuvo operativa hasta 1954 y la otra hasta 1994. Entonces ese pasado poco agradable hizo que el lugar estuviera alejado del turismo y algunos de los males que trae, como la contaminación, deforestación, etc.

132.JPG

Then in 1971 about 60% of Ilha Grande (12,052 hectares) was declared a State Park, thus protecting a large part of its geography.

Luego en 1971 cerca del 60% de Isla Grande (12.052 hectáreas) fue declarada como Parque Estatal, protegiendo así gran parte de su geografía.

133.JPG

Our boat ride continued and so did the dips, how about this little beach house? We spent some time swimming there and were lucky enough to see starfish.

Nuestro paseo en barco continuó y los chapuzones también, ¿qué les parece esta casita de playa? Allí estuvimos un rato nadando y tuvimos la suerte de ver estrellas de mar.

134.JPG

139.JPG

In this great boat tour I also met very nice people, and we agreed to go to dinner at night. Something that I have been asked a few times is that if I'm not afraid or bored to travel alone, and the answer is: not at all, in the trips I have done this way I have always found good people to share with.

En este genial paseo en barco también conocí personas muy agradables, y nos pusimos de acuerdo para ir a cenar en la noche. Algo que me han preguntado algunas veces es que si no me da miedo o aburrimiento viajar sola, y la respuesta es: para nada, en los viajes que he hecho de esta manera siempre he conseguido gente buena para compartir.

141.jpg

310300_417142995010235_140451803_n.jpg

The next morning I took the ferry to return to the city of Angra dos Reis and continue my trip to one more destination on the Green Coast of the state of Rio de Janeiro, see you next time!

A la mañana siguiente tomé el ferry para volver a la ciudad de Angra dos Reis y continuar mi viaje por un destino más de la Costa Verde del estado de Río de Janeiro, ¡hasta la próxima!

142.JPG

143.JPG

146.jpg

If you want to read the previous posts in this series dedicated to Brazil, here are the links:

Si quieren leer las publicaciones anteriores de esta serie dedicada a Brasil, les dejo los enlaces:

Some shots of Fortaleza - Brazil Series #1 [ENG-ESP]

A tour to Morro Branco and Canoa Quebrada, stunning beach landscapes of Ceará - Brazil Series #2 [ENG-ESP]

A long walk in Cumbuco - Brazil Series #3 [ENG-ESP]

Jericoacoara or four days in paradise - Brazil Series #4 [ENG-ESP]

On my way through Recife - Brazil Series #5 [ENG-ESP]

The charming Olinda - Brazil Series #6 [ENG-ESP]

Leaving the cities for nature: Porto de Galinhas (Port of Hens) and Carneiros Beach - Brazil Series #7 [ENG-ESP]

Salvador da Bahia, an enveloping city - Brazil Series #8 [ENG-ESP]

Night in Salvador - Brazil Series #9 [ENG-ESP]

Morro de Sâo Paulo, beach splendor - Brazil Series #10 [ENG-ESP]

It's impossible not to fall in love with Rio de Janeiro - Brazil Series #11 [ENG-ESP]

Visit to the Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden - Brazil Series #12 [ENG-ESP]

Seeing Rio de Janeiro from the height of Pâo de Açúcar and a visit to Niterói - Brazil Series #13 [ENG-ESP]

No matter the religion, everyone wants to go to Cristo Redentor (Christ the Redeemer) - Brazil Series #14 [ENG-ESP]

A fortress, the old aqueduct, the famous stairs and some nightlife in Rio de Janeiro - Brazil Series #15 [ENG-ESP]

On the quiet beaches of Búzios - Brazil Series #16 [ENG-ESP]



THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG! / ¡GRACIAS POR VISITAR MI BLOG!



All photos are my property and were taken with a Sony Cyber Shot digital camera / Todas las fotos son de mi propiedad y fueron hechas con una cámara digital Sony Cyber Shot

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center