This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Jericoacoara or four days in paradise - Brazil Series #4 [ENG-ESP]

When I decided to save for a long time in order to make this backpacking trip to Brazil a reality, one of the places I wanted to visit for sure was Jericoacoara, a remote beach village in the state of Ceará that years ago I had seen on a TV show and that never left my mind.

Cuando decidí ahorrar durante un buen tiempo para poder hacer realidad este viaje mochilero por Brasil, uno de los lugares que quería conocer sí o sí era Jericoacoara, un remoto pueblo playero del estado de Ceará que años atrás había visto en un programa de tv y que nunca salió de mi cabeza.

146.JPG

I asked for options to get there at the hostel where I stayed in the city of Fortaleza and they told me that there was a transport that made the route and that they could let them know so they could pick me up the next day. The cost of the ticket seemed affordable and I didn't hesitate, so my adventure began early in the morning, I had to travel almost 300 km.

Pregunté opciones para llegar allá en el hostal donde me quedé en la ciudad de Fortaleza y me dijeron que había un transporte que hacía la ruta y que podían avisarle para que pasaran por mí al día siguiente. El costo del pasaje me pareció accesible y no lo dudé, así que mi aventura comenzó bien temprano en la mañana, había que recorrer casi 300 Km.

147.JPG

On the highway we began to see the desert landscape that characterizes this region, arriving at the town of Jijoca a few hours later, we changed means of transport, we got off the bus and got on the 4x4s. As this is a protected area, the road here has no pavement and all-terrain vehicles are perfect to continue the journey through dirt, sand and many jumps. We passed through an area full of dunes and the drivers made a stop for us to enjoy the spectacular scenery.

Por la autopista comenzamos a ver el paisaje desértico que caracteriza esta región, al llegar a la población de Jijoca unas horas después, cambiamos de medio de transporte, nos bajamos del autobús y nos subimos a unos 4x4. Al ser esta una zona protegida, la vía por aquí no tiene pavimento y los vehículos todo terreno son perfectos para continuar el viaje entre tierra, arena y muchos brincos. Pasamos por una zona llena de dunas y los conductores hicieron una parada para que disfrutáramos del espectacular paisaje.

150.JPG

About an hour later we finally arrived in Jericoacoara, a somewhat complicated name, so most people just call it Jeri. In this town that has three streets, there is no asphalt, everything is sand and the circulation of vehicles is forbidden, those who want to come by private car must leave it parked in Jijoca and make the trip here hiring 4x4s.

Como una hora después finalmente llegamos a Jericoacoara, un nombre algo complicado, por lo que la mayoría de la gente le dice simplemente Jeri. En este pueblo que tiene tres calles, no existe el asfalto, todo es arena y está prohibida la circulación de vehículos, el que quiere venir en carro particular debe dejarlo estacionado en Jijoca y hacer el trayecto hasta acá contratando los 4x4.

295.JPG

One of the main streets of the town / Una de las calles principales del pueblo


The vehicle left us on the main street and there I asked where was a cheap hostel that was listed in my guidebook, I was lucky because it was nearby, around the corner to the other street, so I didn't have to walk much in the sand with my bulky backpack.

El vehículo nos dejó en la calle principal y allí pregunté dónde quedaba un hostal económico que aparecía reseñado en mi guía, tuve suerte porque estaba cerca, al dar la vuelta hacia la otra calle, así que no tuve que caminar mucho por la arena con mi voluminosa mochila.

297.JPG

The square / La plaza


I couldn't believe I was there, I loved the first thing I noticed: the relaxed atmosphere of the town and the vegetation that accompanies the houses, inns and shops, making everything look very cozy.

No podía creer que estaba ahí, me encantó lo primero que percibí: el relajado ambiente del pueblo y la vegetación que acompaña a las casas, posadas y locales comerciales, haciendo que todo luzca muy acogedor.

298.JPG

Another street, with stores and restaurants / Otra calle, con tiendas y restaurantes


I had no reservation at the hostel but fortunately there was availability and I paid for four nights in a shared room (6 beds), where I chose the top of one of the bunk beds. I liked the place a lot, not only because it was cheap but also because they offered a good breakfast and were very friendly.

No tenía reserva en el hostal pero afortunadamente había disponibilidad y pagué por cuatro noches en una habitación compartida (6 camas), donde escogí la parte de arriba de una de las literas. El lugar me gustó mucho, no sólo por lo económico sino porque ofrecían un buen desayuno y eran muy amables.

313.JPG

Hostel Jeri Brasil


If you are wondering how I communicated in Portuguese during this trip, I must say that I myself was surprised with my level. I learned the basics of the language thanks to the fact that when my house had Tv Globo on cable, I watched several programs there hahaha, I also took with me a small dictionary just in case and there is the advantage that many words in Spanish are the same or similar.

Si se preguntan cómo me comuniqué en portugués durante este viaje, debo decir que yo misma quedé sorprendida con mi nivel. Aprendí lo básico del idioma gracias a que cuando en mi casa el cable tenía Tv Globo, veía varios programas allí jajaja, también llevé conmigo un pequeño diccionario por si acaso y está la ventaja de que muchas palabras en español son iguales o parecidas.

I left my backpack stored in the closet indicated in the room and went for my first walk around Jericoacoara, of course I went straight to the beach, not caring that it was noon.

Dejé mi mochila guardada en el armario que me indicaron en la habitación y salí a dar mi primera caminata por Jericoacoara, por supuesto que fui directo a la playa sin importarme que fuera mediodía.

154.JPG

As I told you at the beginning, I had seen this village in a television program and I remembered how impressive it seemed to me, but seeing it live and direct totally exceeded my expectations.

Como les dije al principio, yo había visto este pueblo en un programa de televisión y recordaba lo impactante que me pareció, pero comenzar a verlo en vivo y directo superó totalmente mis expectativas.

156.JPG

The main beach combines a series of things that make this landscape unique: a huge dune, the extensive beach, the limitless horizon, people swimming and others kitesurfing, green areas, donkeys roaming free, the possibility of riding horses along the shore, buggy rides, sandboarding... no wonder the locals say: "paradise is here".

En la playa principal se combinan una serie de cosas que convierten a este paisaje en algo único: una enorme duna, la extensa playa, el horizonte sin límites, gente nadando y otros haciendo kitesurf, áreas verdes, burros paseando libres por ahí, posibilidad de montar a caballo por la orilla, ir en buggy, hacer sandboard… con razón sus pobladores dicen: “el paraíso está aquí”.

157.JPG

161.JPG

I was walking against the wind as I tried to capture this natural beauty with my modest camera.

Iba caminando contra el viento mientras trataba de captar esta belleza natural con mi modesta cámara.

162.JPG

163.JPG

165.JPG

There were people but it wasn't crowded, being inside a remote national park as I explained before, Jeri is not so easily accessible. A little more than 20 years ago it was just a fishing village, but little by little tourism discovered it and it grew.

Había gente pero no estaba abarrotado, al estar dentro de un remoto parque nacional como les expliqué anteriormente, Jeri no es de tan fácil acceso. Hace poco más de 20 años apenas era un pueblo de pescadores, pero poco a poco el turismo lo descubrió y fue creciendo.

167.JPG

I went to eat something near the beach and before the sun went down I went back to climb the huge dune, known as "Por do Sol" (Sunset), I read that from there you can see some epic sunsets, and I wanted to check it out.

Fui a comer algo cerca de la playa y antes de que cayera el sol volví para subir a la enorme duna, conocida como “Por do Sol” (Puesta de Sol), leí que desde ahí se ven unos atardeceres épicos, y quería comprobarlo.

170.JPG

171.JPG

172.JPG

This turned out to be quite a ritual, people go up and stay until the sea swallows the sun in a flash of warm colors like yellow and orange, some even applaud while the star king disappears.

Esto resultó ser todo un ritual, la gente sube y se queda hasta que el mar se va tragando al sol entre un destello de colores cálidos como el amarillo y el naranja, algunos hasta aplauden mientras el astro rey desaparece.

302.JPG

173.JPG

Music was playing in the distance and when I went down I could see how they were dancing capoeira, an Afro-Brazilian expression that combines dance, acrobatics and martial arts.

A lo lejos estaba sonando una música y cuando bajé pude ver cómo bailaban capoeira, una expresión afro-brasileña que combina danza, acrobacia y artes marciales.

174.JPG

303.JPG

I returned to the hostel and met the three girls I was going to share the room with, two Brazilians and one Swedish, all of them were backpacking alone like me. We agreed to go together for dinner and to see the nightlife of Jericoacoara, one of them had bought a bottle of cachaça, the most famous alcoholic drink in Brazil. I didn't take any more pictures that night but we had a great time eating, tasting caipirinha (a cocktail made of cachaça and lemon or other fruits), talking and listening to live music that some bars had outdoors.

Regresé al hostal y conocí a las tres chicas con las que iba a compartir la habitación, dos brasileñas y una sueca, todas estaban mochileando solas como yo. Nos pusimos de acuerdo para ir juntas a cenar y a ver la movida nocturna de Jericoacoara, una de ellas había comprado una botella de cachaça, la bebida alcohólica más famosa de Brasil. No tomé más fotos esa noche pero la pasamos muy bien comiendo, probando la caipirinha (cóctel a base de cachaça y limón u otras frutas), conversando y escuchando música en vivo que algunos bares tenían al aire libre.

178.JPG

The next day I made my first excursion here, I was recommended to go to two lagoons: Lagoa Azul and Lagoa do Paraiso. A group of buggies came by the hostel to pick me up and we left early in the morning.

Al día siguiente hice mi primera excursión por aquí, me recomendaron ir a dos lagunas: Lagoa Azul y Lagoa do Paraiso. Un grupo de buggies pasó por el hostal a buscarme y salimos temprano hacia allá.

180.JPG

On the way we made a stop to see a very particular tree, called Árvore da Preguiça, which translates as "Lazy Tree" 😂, a kind of mangrove that looks sideways by the action of the strong winds of Ceará, what do you think? It is an icon of Jeri.

En el camino hicimos una parada para conocer un árbol muy particular, se llama Árvore da Preguiça, lo que se traduce como Árbol Perezozo 😂, una especie de manglar que luce ladeado por la acción de los fuertes vientos de Ceará, ¿qué les parece?, es todo un ícono de Jeri.

181.JPG

185.JPG

We crossed a lot of sand with the buggies and arrived at Lagoa Azul (Blue Lagoon), a gorgeous place with white sand and crystal clear blue water.

Atravesamos mucha arena con los buggies y llegamos a Lagoa Azul (Laguna Azul), un precioso lugar con arena blanca y agua cristalina de azules claros.

186.JPG

Here there are some facilities for tourists, restaurants, bathrooms and activities such as sailing in jangada (wooden rafts with triangular sail typical of this region of Brazil), paddle, among others. I spent the hour we were there swimming in these freshwaters and walking around the place to take pictures.

Aquí hay algunas instalaciones para los turistas, restaurantes, baños y actividades como navegar en jangada (unas balsas de madera con vela triangular típicas de esta región de Brasil), paddle, entre otras. En la hora que estuvimos allí, me dediqué a nadar por esas aguas dulces y a dar una vuelta por el lugar para hacer fotos.

188.JPG

192.JPG

190.JPG

195.JPG

201.JPG

Then we were called to get on the buggies and went on to the other lagoon, Lagoa do Paraiso (Paradise Lagoon), which was not far away. It is equally spectacular and has a high part where there was a zip line for those who wanted to jump into the water in this fun way. On the shores there were also some logs where there were hammocks, and you could sit there and relax inside the lagoon.

Después nos llamaron para montarnos en los buggies y seguimos hacia la otra laguna, Lagoa do Paraiso (Laguna del Paraíso), la cual no estaba muy lejos. Es igualmente espectacular y tiene una parte alta donde había una tirolina para los que quisieran lanzarse de esa divertida forma al agua. En las orillas también estaban puestos unos troncos donde había unas hamacas, y podías sentarte allí a relajarte dentro la laguna.

202.JPG

205.JPG

We stayed there until about 2:00 in the afternoon and then we headed back to the village of Jericoacoara. On the way we were told that there was an extra on the itinerary, the Lagoa Coraçao (Heart Lagoon), a small lagoon in the middle of the desert that seen from afar was shaped like a heart, we made a brief stop in this exotic scenery.

Allí estuvimos como hasta las 2:00 de la tarde y luego emprendimos el regreso al pueblo de Jericoacoara. En el camino nos dijeron que había un extra en el itinerario, la Lagoa Coraçao, una pequeña laguna en medio del desierto que vista de lejos tenía forma de corazón, hicimos una breve parada en ese exótico escenario.

206.JPG

210.JPG

208.JPG

Lagoa Coraçao (Heart Lagoon / Laguna Corazón)


A particularity of Jeri are the donkeys, I like these animals, they transmit tenderness to me. You can see them everywhere, they are ownerless and roam free, like these we found along the road.

Una particularidad de Jeri son los burros, me agradan estos animales, me transmiten ternura. Los puedes ver por muchas partes, no tienen dueño y andan libres por ahí, como estos que nos encontramos por la vía.

212.JPG

213.JPG

214.JPG

We arrived at the village and I went to get something to eat, then I met up with my roommates and we walked along the beach for a while. In the afternoons several stands are set up nearby offering typical drinks such as caipirinha and versions of it with different fruits, as well as other drinks. I'm not much of a drinker but I had a traditional caipirinha and another one with passion fruit, both were delicious. We stayed there talking, watching the sunset and when it got dark we went back to the hostel.

Llegamos al pueblo y me fui a comer algo, luego me encontré con mis compañeras de cuarto y caminamos por la playa un rato. En las tardes se colocan cerca de allí varios puestos que ofrecen bebidas típicas como la caipirinha y versiones de ella con diferentes frutas, además de otros tragos. No soy de mucho beber pero me tomé una caipirinha tradicional y otra de parchita (maracujá), ambas estaban deliciosas. Allí nos quedamos conversando, viendo el atardecer y cuando anocheció volvimos al hostal.

216.JPG

218.JPG

220.JPG

224.JPG

225.JPG

226.JPG

228.JPG

The next day I got up early to go to another place not to be missed if you are in Jeri: Tatajuba, a fishing village about 18 km away. There is a beach, dunes, river, mangroves... so much beauty! We went again in buggies, look at the piggies:

Al día siguiente me levanté temprano para ir a otro lugar imperdible si andas por Jeri: Tatajuba, un pueblo de pescadores que queda a unos 18 Km. Ahí hay playa, dunas, río, manglares… ¡tanta belleza! Nos fuimos otra vez en buggies, vean a los cerditos:

232.JPG

The first stop of the tour was to see seahorses, I didn't know we would do that, I was surprised. We took some boats and approached the mangroves, where the guide showed us one that he grabbed with a plastic bowl, he explained how fragile they are and that they are protected, then we saw another one in the water. I had never seen them in their natural habitat, they are so ethereal.

La primera parada del paseo fue para ver caballitos de mar, no sabía que haríamos eso, quedé sorprendida. Tomamos unas lanchas y nos acercamos a los manglares, donde el guía nos mostró uno que agarró con un bol plástico, nos explicó lo frágiles que son y que están protegidos, luego vimos otro en el agua. Nunca los había visto en su hábitat natural, son tan etéreos.

235.JPG

236.JPG

237.JPG

240.JPG

We returned to land and the tour continued in a very particular way, we rode with the buggies on rafts that some men move with the strength of their arms and we arrived at the village of Tatajuba.

Volvimos a tierra y el recorrido siguió de una forma muy particular, nos montamos con los buggies en unas balsas que unos hombres mueven con la fuerza de sus brazos y llegamos al pueblo de Tatajuba.

242.JPG

245.JPG

The landscapes continued to leave me in awe, here there are plenty of surreal locations, and stories. It turns out that this town was completely buried by a dune in the 1980's, and its inhabitants instead of moving far away decided to build their town again near there.

Los paisajes seguían dejándome impactada, aquí sobran las locaciones surrealistas, y las historias. Resulta que este pueblo quedó completamente enterrado por una duna en la década de 1980, y sus pobladores en vez de irse lejos decidieron construir nuevamente su pueblo cerca de allí.

246.JPG

247.JPG

251.JPG

In town we stopped for lunch and to look around, the day was super sunny and we all sought shade and a divine cold coconut water.

En el pueblo hicimos una parada para comer y mirar los alrededores, el día estaba súper soleado y todos buscamos la sombra y una divina y fría agua de coco.

252.JPG

254.JPG

We continued our route in the buggies and made another stop for whoever wanted to do some sandboarding, I didn't sign up for that because I had no idea how to do it, so to avoid disaster I just walked a few meters down the dune, which was quite high.

Continuamos nuestra ruta en los buggies e hicimos otra parada para el que quisiera hacer un poco de sandboard, yo no me anoté en eso porque no tenía idea de cómo hacerlo, así que para evitar el desastre sólo bajé unos metros a pie por la duna, que era bastante alta.

259.JPG

260.JPG

Then we rolled a little more on the sands and finally arrived at Tatajuba beach, another incredible place with calm waters and golden sands, where we spent a little over two hours, my tan became a little more intense here.

Después rodamos un rato más por las arenas y finalmente llegamos a la playa de Tatajuba, otro increíble lugar con aguas tranquilas y arenas doradas, donde estuvimos poco más de dos horas, mi bronceado se volvió un poco más intenso aquí.

261.JPG

263.JPG

267.JPG

The return was super relaxed, it was my turn to sit in the front of the buggy where you don't feel the jumps so much.

El regreso fue súper relajado, me tocó ir en la parte delantera del buggy donde no se sienten tanto los brincos.

269.JPG

270.JPG

When we got back to Jericoacoara it was still early, about 3:30 in the afternoon, so there was still time to go see one more place that was nearby. I went to the hostel to leave my stuff and there was my Swedish roommate, I told her if she wanted to go with me to the Pedra Furada (Perforated Stone) and she liked the idea.

Cuando volvimos a Jericoacoara era aún temprano, como las 3:30 de la tarde, así que había aún tiempo para ir a conocer un lugar más que estaba cerca. Fui al hostel a dejar mis cosas y allí estaba mi compañera de habitación sueca, le dije si quería ir conmigo a la Pedra Furada (Piedra Perforada) y le gustó la idea.

271.JPG

We walked along a hill parallel to the sea, the Pedra Furada is about 3 km from the village and is famous because people go there to see the sunset in a different way, as the sunset can be seen inside the arc of this huge rock located on the shore of the beach.

Caminamos por una loma paralela al mar, la Pedra Furada queda a unos 3 Km del pueblo y es famosa porque la gente va para allá a ver el atardecer de una forma diferente, ya que el sol al caer puede verse dentro del arco de esta enorme roca situada a orillas de la playa.

272.JPG

There were so many people when we arrived, you'd think there would be a concert there.

Había mucha gente cuando llegamos, cualquiera diría que habría un concierto allí.

276.JPG

277.JPG

Well, the truth is that we did witness a tremendous spectacle, it was great to see the sunset that way.

Bueno, la verdad es que sí presenciamos un tremendo espectáculo, estuvo genial ver el atardecer de esa manera.

280.JPG

282.JPG

289.JPG

291.JPG

292.JPG

Back in the village there were bonfires and a rock band playing on the beach.

Al regresar al pueblo había fogatas y una banda de rock tocando en la playa.

306.JPG

308.JPG

With my roommates / Con mis compañeras de cuarto


And this was my adventure in Jeri, without a doubt I was in paradise. If you go to Brazil, don't miss this place!

Y esta fue mi aventura por Jeri, sin duda estuve en el paraíso. Si van a Brasil ¡no se pierdan este lugar!

299.JPG

300.JPG

If you want to read the previous posts in this series dedicated to Brazil, here are the links:

Si quieren leer las publicaciones anteriores de esta serie dedicada a Brasil, les dejo los enlaces:

Some shots of Fortaleza - Brazil Series #1 [ENG-ESP]

A tour to Morro Branco and Canoa Quebrada, stunning beach landscapes of Ceará - Brazil Series #2 [ENG-ESP]

A long walk in Cumbuco - Brazil Series #3 [ENG-ESP]



THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG! / ¡GRACIAS POR VISITAR MI BLOG!



All photos are my property and were taken with a Sony Cyber Shot digital camera / Todas las fotos son de mi propiedad y fueron hechas con una cámara digital Sony Cyber Shot